Friday, December 31, 2010

See you in 2011

New Years Eve, Yeaaaa, been looking forward to this day for a couple of weeks.  I will be going into the new year under 219 lbs because the last day of 2010 I was under 219.  Tomorrow the work starts again.  I haven't ran the last couple of days.  I did help grandpa with his snow removal and along with moving our own  snow I got a little bit of a workout.  The bottom line or the truth as one could say is, "I just did not want to run, PERIOD"....  We went for a wheeler ride and got as far as the radio station and turned around and came home.  Oh, I forgot to say the temp. was 10 degrees, we just don't have the clothes for that kind of weather.  Those new tires we bought sure go good in the snow.  If it warms up into the 30 we will try again.  Grandpa is having problems with his back, so that is why we have been helping him out.  We are now settled in for the arrival of the new year.  Mom has the water almost to a boil for the King Crab Legs, along with a couple pounds of already pealed shrimp.  Can't wait to dig in.  I might not weigh in tomorrow until after I run.  Tomorrow I will post my resolutions for the coming year.  Monday I will post my 2010 totals which I can tell you now, they are not that impressive.  See you all in 2011

Wednesday, December 29, 2010

5 days off

I did my long run on the treadmill at work yesterday.  I was able to get in 8.26 miles which burned 1407 calories.  It took me 1 hour and 47 minutes for the walk/run but a Super running guru Jeff Galloway say, "not only running but time on your feet counts towards your long run", he was referring to the walking portion of the workout.  My endurance is getting a little better which includes my muscles and my breathing.  I still need to hit my inhaler a couple of times during my workouts.  I am back on all of my meds., which sucks, but I have to breathe.  I am still at 218 lbs. and will try and keep at least that into the new year.  Man, that has been hard to do.  I took the day off which gives my a 5 dayer.  I went to bed at 9 and woke up at 9.  12 hours of sleep is wonderful.  I feel more rested but my body is letting me know that I am working out at a level that it doesn't like.  I will win this battle of the bulge and take my level of fitness to the level it was in 1997 when I finished St. George Marathon in 3:51:07 hours.  I will do this because I have to and because I have people keeping me on track.  WORKOUT:  JUST DO SOMETHING!

Tuesday, December 28, 2010

A long and winding road

I am glad everybody is getting geared up for the new year.  I have a really good attitude towards this coming year.  For the first time in a year and a half I am not pissed off being in my 60's.  I think I have excepted that I really am almost a senior citizen.  It is hard to believe that in 6 months I could retire at age 62.  I won't have my 20 in here at the prison until July which is a month after my 63rd birthday.  When they changed the Social Security age for our age group to 66 a few years ago Mom and I decided that I should stay here at the prison until 66.  That would give me 23 years if I can stand it that long.  During this time I will finish the house to the way we want.  Pay off what bills we have.  We have thought about a condo in St. George or Mesiquite, Nv, or someplace where it's a little warmer.  It would be nice to spent the summers in Manti and winter where it is warm without having to stay in a camping trailer (even if some are pretty nice now days).  That's our plan but it is always open for change.  No workout yesterday.  I was exhausted and thought I was coming down with a bug.  I am thinking about taking tomorrow off so I have a 5 dayer.  With all the training we are doing please remember to take rest days when your body tells you to.  JUST REST

Monday, December 27, 2010

12/27/10 Looking forward to the new year

My mood is better this morning.  I don't know why I wake up in those types of moods.  I had a good running week last week with 25.17 miles of running burning 4417 calories.  I plan on adding one mile a week until I reach 30 miles then staying consistent with the 30.  I will change the running up by increasing my long run mileage.  My last long run was 7 miles so I will increase that each week by 1 until I hit 13 miles.  Then increase the long run every other week by 1 miles until I hit a 20 miler.  The rest of the 30 is made up during the week with shorter runs.  It will be challenging to get this in with the swimming and bike training for the Tri. in May.  I like the body composition of a triathlete.  They have more lean muscle than the typical runner does.  Looking forward to the new year.  Exercise JUST DO SOMETHING

Sunday, December 26, 2010

Shrimp dip

Got in my 25 for the week with a 4.14 mile run today which burned about 600 calories.  Today was one of those days where I slept really good with 9 hours of sleep but woke up in a mood.  My lower back was killing me and I was hatefull.  I don't get these moods.  I guess everyone has them.  I am glad I was so close to getting in my 25 miles.  Getting out for the run changed my mood to where I only want to kill everyother person I see instead of everyone I see including those on TV and the ones that haven't been born yet.  The run helped my mood but the back was still acting up so I stetched for 5 minutes or so which helped a lot.  I need more stretching.  I still haven't weighed, so we will see Monday morning if I commit HarryCarry or not.  The only day I was bad was Saturday where the shrimp dip was my down fall along with a Pecan Roll/Chocolates/Nuts/Chips/more Shrimp Dip and chips. Just run

Saturday, December 25, 2010

Inspiring video

Todays workout was inspired by the video Rowdy posted on his blog swim/bike/run of people doing Ironman Triathalons.  There was no way I wasn't going to workout after watching that vidio.   I did and I am happy now.  I ran 5.27 miles and burned around 800+ calories.  I didn't weigh this morning because I wouldn't be able to take it if I was 219 lbs or over.  I will weigh tomorrow and see how that goes.  I need four miles tomorrow to get my 25.  I will eventually get to my 30.   Hope everyone had a good Christmas.  love ya all

Thursday, December 23, 2010

12/23/10 Only 8 days to go

It has been raining on top of your 14 inches of snow which is making a mess but melting the snow.  Yesterday I did treadmill at work for 6.35 miles.  It was foggy today but I got outside for a 5.62 miles run on Palmer Hill.  I ran from home to the bottom of the hill by hwy. 89.  I started at the bottom and ran up two telephone poles then back down one pole,  back up two then back down one.  I really pushed the ups and jogged down the one all the way to 5th west.  Ended up being one heck of a workout.  Between the two workouts I think I burned around 2000 calories.  The morning I was 217.4 lbs.  Still trying to stay below 219 thru December.  With all the goodies it is hard.  Let me know all of your New Year Resolutions.  Just run

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Winter wonderland

The snow finally made it to Sanpete County.  After two days of rain we now have 14 inches of snow on the ground.  St. George is flooding away from all the rain they have had.  They said part of the river trail has washed away again.  Utah weather is sooo much fun.  I am a little more relaxed today because I weighed 217.8 lbs.  Yesterday I was shooting for a 6 miler but got in 3.79 burning 549 calories instead.  I need to make time for my workout so I can get in the mileage I want.  Shooting for at least a 25 mile week.

Monday, December 20, 2010

Looking forward to the 1st

Monday morning I had a little bit of a scare, because I was 218.8.  The rest of the month I will not lift weights or swim in the pool.  I want pure cardio which means running or riding my bike.  I did four workouts last week:  Ran for 11.66 miles, bike for 11.87 miles and lifted weights for 58 minutes which burned 2674 calories.  When I am laying bed and fall asleep before the 9 o'clock news comes on, I need rest, so I took it this week.  Gained a little weight, but as long as I stay below 219 I am ok.  Starting the 1st I will change things up a bit.  Good week.  Be consistent

Sunday, December 19, 2010

Done for the week

The Murray weekend wasn't that bad on me.  This moring I was 218 so I am pleased that I was able to stay under 219 because I never want to see that weight again.  I ate rather well, meaning I ate using my head rather than my gut.  When I fixed my plate at Joette's (philly cheese, I think) I loaded up with the veggies and a portion of meat on the hoggie bun.  That with a few chips with water made for a good lunch.  At dinner at Texas Road House I ordered a steak with a dinner salad, creamed spinnish and a side of mushrooms.  I was full before I finished but everything was so good I kept eating because I new this was good for me and I needed it.  I think my stomach has shrunk some.  I did get a massage Saturday morning with Bill.  Saturday afternoon I hit the Murray Park Center treadmill for a 6.12 mile workout which burned 956 calories.  I don't think I will workout today, but not because I don't want to.  My body is pretty beat up and I need to let it heal.  I got in a total of 4 workout this week and I am satifyed with that.  I want to hit it really hard next week because I think this will be my hardest week for December.  More food and more days off.  I will not start January off being 219 pounds.   Consistentcy and knowing when to rest

Friday, December 17, 2010

12/17/10

No workout yesterday because I used the excuse of forgetting my workout clothes home.  I say it this way because I could have lifted weights in the clothes I was wearing.  I got weak because I had a plan for the day and I was pissed off because the shoe pod was on my shoes at home.  I might be to attached to my gadgets and not being able to down load my results to Garmin.  I will not do this again because it could be a habit.  The weight yesterday was not water and it wasn't a fluke.  This moring I was 217.2 which is wonderful because I didn't workout yesterday.  I am eating soooo much better.  I only have to eat enough to keep up my strength and keep my mood up.  We are going to Murray today and I am going to run at the Murray AC Center this afternoo or evening.  I will get another massage Saturday morning with Bill.  See Joette and the Grandkids.  Sat. night go out to dinner for Sherlines birthday with the Steadman crew.  Life is good for me.  I figure if I can have these result thru the holidays I will have even better after the first of the year.  Be consistent.

Thursday, December 16, 2010

12/16/10 216.8 lbs.

I got on the scale this moring and I have finally leaped off the Plateau.  I couldn't believe it, I was looking at the scale in disbelief, 216.8, I had to have Carolyn look at it because I didn't believe what I was seeing.  Some might be water loss, but not all of it.  We will see tomorrow.  I ran 5.54 miles yesterday and burned 881 calories.  Good workout.  I did those two 2 a days but I have been eating the grapefruit, so I don't really know what made the change.  The wierd thing is this came after a day off and a good nights sleep of 8 hours.  Hard to figure out how the body works.  I think this is where consistency pays off.  If you are not seeing any result you need to keep at it and they will show up when you are least expecting it.  Life is good.  Be consistent

Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Get your sleep

After Sunday and Mondays double workouts I was wasted totally.  I could hardly focus during the day on Tuesday.  Only having slept for around 6 hours compounded the feeling.  My plan on Tuesday was to run 6 miles.  The way I was feeling there was no way I would be able to do this.  I didn't work out, just went home ate a meatloaf sandwich with a few chips, watched tv, then went to bed at a little after 8.  I was able to get a fantastic nights sleep.  I have the workout/tired muscle/lack of energy/super motivated/wonderful feeling that you get when you workout consistently.  The people that don't workout don't have a clue what I am talking about and the ones that workout are saying ( O YA ) I know that feeling well.  I have been consistent in eating better and it is paying off.  I now have 2 days in a row of being 219.  I can't wait for that scale to say 218 because that means I am finally off of that plateau I have been on for 45 days.  The 2 a days have been a challenge but boy do they pay off.  Be consistent, eat right, ride bikes, swim, run, lift weights, walk, just do something and get your sleep

Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Good result into the coming year

Got in a couple great workouts yesterday.  Weights/circuit training/chest/legs/abs.  Did a bike ride which took 58 minutes on Farmers Freeway.  Both workouts burned 938 calories.  My weight this morning was 219.6 so at least that is staying the same.  I started the Grapefruit this morning, will see if this does any good.  Restless sleep last night which meant that I got only 6.5 hours sleep.  As I said before I don't do will on anything less than 7.  If I can stay motivated thur Christmas and New Year I think I will have it made.  The new year is aways motivating by itself.  Having good results going into the New Year will be more motivating.  We haven't been around to many goodies this year so that makes it easier on me.  I can do this I just have to stay consistent

Monday, December 13, 2010

12/13/10 Good week

Lets get the weeks stats out of the way:  Total workout time was 7 hour and 13 minutes.  I ran 20.84 miles, biked for 8.29 miles and lifted weights for 1 hour and 35 minutes.  When I weighed in Sunday I was 219.8.  I am still stuck on this platue of 220.  A friend on mine said to try some grapefruit for awhile and see how that works.  No workout Friday and Saturday.  Sunday I pick-up my long run to 8 miles early in the morning and a bike ride in the afternoon.  I was happy with the week but I would liked to had my mileage at 23.  I am doing a lot of training so I need to be patient.  With everything I am doing I can't get over getting my mileage at 30 miles per week.  The only way that will happen is when I run they will have to be longer runs.  Tomorrow is weigh in day, we will see

Thursday, December 9, 2010

12/09/10 Treadmill repairman with sore knees

I spent part of yesterday afternoon on my knee in our aerobic room here at work fixing treadmills.  Needless to say my knees are on fire today.  I got in my weight workout which took me 50 minutes.  I changed up some of the back exercises to exercises I haven't did in years.  I found out that I don't work my back enough.  I need to stay with this workout until I am used to this workout.  I want to get where I can do pull-ups again.  Also got in a 4.61 miles run on the treadmill.  Ended up being a good day with almost 2 hours of working out and keeping my eating in check.  It showed on the scale this morning because I was 220.  We are going to the NutCracker this weekend, which means that we will eat out.  Being away from the house I really have to check what I eat.  I will not have another weekend like last Saturday.  NutCracker Friday night so I have to figure out how to get a run in Friday.  Bill and I are getting a massage Saturday morning.  We need to get in a little last minute shopping for Christmass.  Need to figure out how to get a run in Saturday.  These are the times to stay on track and figure a way to schedule workouts in.  I will read this post Sunday and post how I did.  I will do what needs to be to get my workout in.  Consistency

Wednesday, December 8, 2010

12/08/10

Yesterday I was able to get in 4.62 miles of running and burned 519 calories.  Good workout.  Even with my little set backs I am happy with my workout.  I am still not seeing the weight loss that I want since I am still 221.  I am hoping I am gaining back muscle from the weight lifting.  The end result should be that I burn more calories once I have the lean muscle.  When I feel my arms I can feel the muscle and my legs are getting tighter.  I think I am losing fat all over.  I never realized how much fat I am packing around.  It took a long time to put on the weight and it will take an even longer time to take it off.  I just have to be consistent

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

12/07/10

Yesterday was a good day all around other than not getting much sleep.  I ate well throughout the day right up to and including bed time.  Got in a 45 minute circuit weight training workout with medium weights, which burned around 449 calories.  Cut my time by 15 minutes which is what I wanted.  No time for a run today because we went to Salina and got a load of  coal.  I did not sleep well Sunday night getting 5 to  5.5 hours sleep.  After a hard run like I did Sunday afternoon I needed a good nights sleep.  Yesterday I was sluggish, tired all day long.  Last night I was able to get 7 hours of good sleep and it sure makes a difference on how I feel.  I am feel tired but it is the good tired that comes from working out.  My body is still not used to working out at the level I am putting on it.  I think this is really going to take some dicipline on my part to get into marathon shape this time.  I want this bad enough not to give up 

Monday, December 6, 2010

I don't know about having a cheat day

I had a couple of days where I got weak and ate things I shouldn't.  Friday we went to Richfield and had Pizzia at Pizzia Hut.  That was planned and would have been ok, but Saturday wasn't.  I just didn't care about much of anything that day.  I went to Manti Grocery and spent $29.00 on junk.  The Nachos were great when I was eating them but the acid reflux I had while sleeping that night wasn't.  I also bought 5 candy bars and I ate 4 of them.  I am so proud of myself.  No wonder I was sick that night and the next morning with a stomach ache.  I write a inspiring blog on Friday then do this on Saturday.  I find that I have a hard time with cheat days because it makes me revert right back to the non stop eating that I am trying so hard to break the  habit of and replace it with a good habit.  I need self control!  To the good stuff:  Sunday I ran 6.72 miles and burned 1040 calories.  My week was better because I increased my week run total by 1 mile to 22.46 and added 2 hours of weight lifting for at least a calories burn of 5411.  Need not worry about my past and change the things I have control of until they become a habit.  Consistent, just be consistent

Friday, December 3, 2010

Wanting things bad enough

I really didn't want to workout yesterday.  I finally talked myself into getting on the treadmill for a walk and see how things go.  I was so sore and tired that I walked for awhile then stretched.  By doing this three times I was finally able to run.  It was a long workout with so much walking I have a hard time calling it a run, but I got in 5.07 miles and burned around 796 calories.  Between the workout and eating good all day and night long, I am proud of myself for sticking it out.  You can accomplish your goals,  you just have to want them bad enough.  I will not give up.  I want this to be the last time that I go through this.  Just do something, run, swim, walk, lift weights, anything

Thursday, December 2, 2010

Rewards on the other side

I got in my second 1 hour weight workout, of the week, yesterday.  I would like to get that down to 45 minutes with alot of intensity.  Did a 5.08 mile run on the treadmill here at work.  The total burned 1136 calories or something like that.  I am wasted today but the little problems I have been having are no worse than they were.  Eating take an effort but I am still on track.  I have been staying around 2100 calories for now.  That might be a little low when I lift and run but will see what my energy levels are like.  I have sinus problems going on now so I have to watch that for infections.  Might be overtraining a little because someone I live with is saying I am onery.  Need to get through this phase because I know there are great rewards on the other side.  Just swim/bike/run

Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Just do it!

I had a disappointing weigh in this morning for the 1st of December, but I won't let it get me down.  Last month(October) I was 219.0 pounds with a 44 inch waist.  This morning I was 221.8 with a 44 inch waist.  This is the 1st month since August that I don't have a monthly weight and waist loss.  Looking back on October I only ran 43 miles total.  Not good for me.  That is less than 12 miles a week.  December I will pick up my mileage.  My eating has been really good.  I know what to do noe I need to do it.  Just run

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Weights

A very good workout yesterday.  I lifted weight for 65 minutes and ran for 3.36 miles burning around 1137 calories.  The weights was a circuit non stop workout from one station to another using medium weights.  I am feeling it today.  Funny because yesterday I weighed 221 and after all that workout and eating really good this morning I was 222.  I don't think I will have a weight loss for November, I might even have a gain.  I can't get discouraged.  I just need to stay consistent and the results will come.  Be Consistent

Monday, November 29, 2010

Fat burning intervals are great once there done

I was up to 221 lbs. this morning and that is discouraging.   I have today and tomorrow to be below 219 lbs.  I ran 20.15 miles last week which I am happy with because of the I.T. Band problem I have been nursing along.  I need to take it slow getting my mileage up to 30 a week where I want it to be.  Tonight I will sign up for the St. George Tri at Sandhollow Res. on May 21st.  We will start swimming at Gunnison Pool tomorrow and do that at least 2 days a week.  It has been to cold for me to ride the bike but that will change.  I am going to keep doing Intervals.  Saturday when I did the hill intervals I felt the burn in my muscles into today.  I ate right after the run.  It wasn't an hour when I felt hungry again.  I felt this way the rest of the night into morning time.  Boy do they work.  I need to get my I.T. and Knee feeling better before I do these more than once a week.  Keep on running

Saturday, November 27, 2010

Intervals

Went to Provo shopping yesterday so no run.  Today we have a heatwave of 32.  Put on my warm clothes and went for a very good run.  Did Intervals on Palmer Hill.  I ran to the bottom of the hill.   At the bottom i would run up two telephone poles, the jog back down one, then up two, back down one untill i got to the flat by Palmers house.  End up being a very good workout.  My heart rate would go up between 147 and 150 on the way back down it would be down to 125 or so.  I ran a total of 5.08 miles and burned 796 or so calories.  Will do more intervals, hills and speed work because that really gets the old furnace stoked up.  Keep working out and keep posting.  Just Run

Thursday, November 25, 2010

I.T. Band

I did a short 1 mile walk on the treadmill yesterday trying to loosen up my IT Band.  Yes it is my I.T.  I don't know why i have so much trouble with it on my left side, the same side as my bad knee.  Just go together i guess.  I had the heat pad on my leg for awhile today then decided to walk on my treadmill and do a major stretch every 1/2 mile.  I think it helped.  I am bad at not stretching and i need to get better.  I will stretch after the first mile of every run from know on.   I will try a run tomorrow if we don't go shopping.  My miles for the day are: 3.02 miles and burned around 400 plus calories.  I only have 14 mile in so far this week and i need to get with it if i want to get below 219.  Just run

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Stuck at 220

I did my first run yesterday using my new Garmin foot pod on the treadmill and I love it.  I am just hooked on gadgets like this.  This Garmin hooks up with any device that has ANT+.  I'm in trouble because now I want the Tanita BC-1000 body scale with ANT+ which automatically loads all my stats to the Garmin and I can download it to Garmin Connect.  Maybe for my birthday if I can wait that long.  I ran 5.02 miles yesterday.  The Garmin says I only burned 460 calories.  I am 220 lbs still and every calulator says I burned around 700+.  I'll have to work with that and see what's going on.  On 10/18/10 I was 220--11/2 i was 219.0--11/19--i was 222.0--11/16 i was 221.2 and this week i was 220.1.  For over a month i have been in the low 220s.  My body must like this weight.  By 12/01 i will be at least 219.0 because my mileage is looking much better and my eating has been reallly good.  I hate goal setting but here we go again.  Just Run  

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Changing old habits one at a time

I really like the picture I posted on my blog home page of me running the Goblin Valley Ultra-Marathon in Oct. 09.  I look fairly thin and healthy, but the funny thing is my weight was 225.  I am 220 now and that makes me happy.  No run yet today to post.  My foot pod came yesterday and I can't wait to try it out.  It will have to wait until this afternoon.  Mom bought me a air popcorn popper some time ago.  Air popped is not that bad for you.  I do a big bowl and sprinkle sea salt on it and it is a little over 200 calories.  Alot of fiber so it is not that bad for you.  I think the change from Doritos to air popcorn is a healthy step in the right direction.  If we can make small changes like this until it becomes a habit we are heading in the right direction.

Monday, November 22, 2010

I will be good

My stomach was killing me last night so I stayed home today.  I am filling better today and should have went to work.   I did get on the variable speeding treadmill for a 5.01 mile run and burned 796 calories.  This morning I was 220 which means I lost 1 pound last week.  My max. weight for the last 5 years was 251 lbs. so I think I am on the right track.  My lowest weight in the last 5 years was 217 lbs. so I am pretty close right now.  Come on 216, can't wait.  I don't know if I wrote that I ordered the Garmin Foot Pod ,but I did and it should be here soon.  I would really like to lose 2 lbs. a week.  Holidays are here and that means trouble for those of us that are trying to lose weight.  What can we do?  The first thing I will do is think more about portion size.  I will enjoy the foods I love but smaller portions of each.  I usually don't have a problem with Thanksgiving because I don't eat that much anyway.  My problem is that eveywhere I go there are goodies.  The piecing in-between meals is what kills me this time of the year. Someone brings goodies everyday to work. Walking by the donuts, cookies, fudge, mixed nuts, is hard.  Grandma always has fudge and homemade cookies when we go there. We don't realize the calories we eat when everytime we walk by we take something.  Everyplace we go we eat 1 pc. of fudge, 1 cookies, 1 handfull of mixed nuts, 1 rice crispy ball, some carmel popcorn, 1 piece of candy from a box.   Man does that add up fast.  I will try and be good.  I will be good.  I will be consistent.

Saturday, November 20, 2010

Provo shopping

Got in a 2.25 miles run on Thursday and burned about 300 calories.  Not much but it was something.  We went to Provo shopping Friday and not able to workout.  A storm is coming in and the wind is howling outside.  I will put on some windproof clothes and at least go for a walk in a bit.  I have to do somethng with my treadmill to get it so it doesn't keep slowing down in the middle of a run.  Still at 221 so I need to work harder.  Be consistent

Thursday, November 18, 2010

Good workout

Finally got in a good run yesterday.  I ran/walked for 5.46 miles and burned around 700 calories.  My weight was 221.4 which is better than the 224 the other day.  I will start my Biggest Loser today at 221.4 pounds.  So here we go to hopefully my last time having to lose this much weight.  I want to get the weight off and have the joy of maintaining my goal weight for a change.  I think that struggle would be more fun.  I need to get on the ball so I have a loss for December 1st.  I order the foot pod for the Garmin 210 so I can use there cool web site to track my miles indoors.  Mine is compatable with new treadmill programming but our treadmill are not that new.  Brandon what model Garmin did you get and do you still like it?  Just Run

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

11/16/2010

I was disapointed today when I went to weigh in because the Biggest Loser was a continuation of last years contest.  They are calling it maintain don't gain.  Anyway I am starting my own contest today anyway.  This morning I was 224.2 lbs. which sucks because I have gained 5 lbs. in a little over 2 weeks.  I played all day yesterday with my new Garmin here at work and didn't get in a workout.  I could have went down at anytime to workout so there is no excuse that I was to busy.  I need to get back on track.  I have this tendency that when things go wrong like the dryer heating element going out and the computer being down that I lose focus.  I cannot do that anymore if I want to get healthy.  Lets try this for motivation.  Billy and I decided to train for a spring triathalon.  Talking to Rowdy about this he wanted to do it also.  He found one in Hurricane on May 21st.  The Programming Captain Devin Blood and his brother wants to join us to.  It will be fun having all these people for motivation.  I hope I can get my swimming down because we swim in Sand Hollow Res. 750 meters a 12.4 mile bike and a 5k run.  I can run ok and I can ride ok but swim ????

Monday, November 15, 2010

Old computer finally crashes

I have been trying to fight off a computer virus for the last month.  Using my Internet Security and my knowledge I finally lost the battle.  Today I am taking it to a computer repair shop in Ephriam and see if they can at least get the pictures and music off.  The sad part is I have had a external harddrive for at least 3 months.  Mom said it we lose the pictures she will divorce me.  Anyway that is why I haven't posted any workouts.  I did not do much training for having 4 days off.  I did a 2.25 mile run and burned almost 300 calories.  We bought me a Garmin 210 for Christmas and I had to try it out even if I felt like I was coming down with a cold most of the weekend.  I love it.  It is not like my huge 101 Garmin that I have had for at least 5 years.  I got the watch and the heart rate monitor.  I need to get the shoe pod next.  I think it will be great.  I will post my weight tomorrow.  I am joining our employees association biggest loser which starts tomorrow.  I am going to win it this year

Wednesday, November 10, 2010

Blog motivated

I had talked myself out of working out today.  I kept thinking about Brandon's post, the more I thought about it the guilt started piling up.  Because of his post I did a 3.06 mile run and burned around 400 calories.  We do motivate each other.

Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Gained 3 pounds

I had to do some work on the treadmills here at work yesterday.  I only got in 2.12 miles and burned a little over 200 calories.  It's a start.  Two workout in 2 weeks cost me a 3 lb. gain.  I can't believe how fast it come on.  Ate better yesterday.  Probably not enough.  I have a tendency to under eat after I have over ate.  Doing this for any length of time puts me in a starvation mode.  The charts say I should have a minimum of 2100 calories a day.  If you figure a workout on top of that of 500 calories and you only eat 1500 or 1600 it doesn't take long to go starvaton mode.  When that slows everything down to a stand still, your metablism almost stops burning calories.  It is a delicate balance.  Consistency is that answer

Monday, November 8, 2010

No workouts

I haven't been good with my eating since she has come home and it is not her fault, it's mind.  I told myself that I would eat really good while she was in Oki and I did.  Since she is back I guess that makes it ok to gorge myself again.  I will take care of that starting today.  I didn't get in any workout last week.  Will take care of that this week also.  I forgot to weigh myself this morning to see if I gained any weight.  We will see tomorrow.  Back on track starting today because the gains can go away so quick.  Being consistent is what works

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

October result are good

Well I didn't get the results that I wanted while Carolyn was gone, but I did lose some.  I started 8/1 with my blood pressure at 140/93 and for the last 2 months it has been 124/80 or so.  My waist was 47.5 inches and yesterday it was 44 inches.  Weight started at 234.6 pounds and it is now 219.  I am on the right track and I need to keep this up until I get to where I want to be.  Making the changes that I have the abilitiy to change, is the way to go.  The Asthma and allergies I don't have much control over, even though not packing around that extra weight help the Asthma.  Carolyn will be home soon and my world will be whole

Sunday, October 24, 2010

Amazing, just amazing

I got up today somewhere around 830. I made coffee and sat on the couch so Binks could have his time with me. After I was so gracious to share myself with him I went over to mom and dad for my weekend morning visit. When I was walking back the sky didn't look to threatening and that put my mind to working full speed. I have wanted to ride the new trail that goes from Elsinore following hwy. 89 to Big Rock Candy Mountain. This trail follows the Sevier River and through a gorgeous canyon. I grabbed all type of gear and out the door I went. As I was driving I started to notice the clouds building down south. The more I drove the worse they looked. By the time I hit the trail head which is at the bottom of Clear Creek Canyon, just off I-70 and 89. It was rain pretty good but I Gore Texed up and headed south. What a beautiful ride. The leaves are still on the trees showing alot of color. The river next to me and the formations in the canyon were worth it all. People say I am a little different and they are quite right. I love the out of the ordinary, but when you do it you can't believe the feeling you get. Amazing, just amazing PS. I rode for 13.7 miles in 1 hour 24 minute and burned 813 calories.

Saturday, October 23, 2010

Nice time of the year

It didn't snow today and the weather was better than yesterday, so I went for another bike ride. I rode to Sterling which is 5 miles away. The totals was 10.5 miles in a little under an hour which the bike computer said that I had burned 620 calories. I don't know how accurate these things are but they give you an idea of what you have burned. The only thing bad about today was my sore butt. I haven't rode for awhile and it hurts. I loved today because of the change in the weather this time of the year. This morning it was clouding but got to 60 something degrees. This afternoon the sky opened up with a down pour which is continuing tonight. I have had a fire in the fireplace for a week now. It is a nice time of the year for me. Ride on

Friday, October 22, 2010

Ride on

My excuse for not posting anything is I put on a marathon at work. With everything that goes into setting one up by myself I have been stressed. I know, no excuses, but that is the one I am using this time. This weekend is supposed to be rainy with a chance of snow. With that I cancelled my lava trip. I will most likely stay around the house. The rain had stopped for awhile so I decided to go for a short bike ride. I dressed fairly warm because it looked like it could start raining anytime and it started right out the door, I went anyway. Road in the rain for 12.5 miles which took 1 hour and 9 minutes and the computer on the bike said a burn of 780 calories. Not bad for not wanting to do anything today. The bike is a mess that will have to be cleaned up soon. If it is not to bad the next couple of days I will ride more. It was different but fun riding in the rain. I am weird but I like things out of the ordinary. Ride on

Monday, October 18, 2010

Enjoy it while you can

Two days of wheeler riding in the San Rafael on new trails I have not road before was fun. The only way it could have been better is if Carolyn was with me. But she would not have liked some of the trails I was on. I got in 2 runs while out there. I noticed how many people were out riding there wheeler, bicycles or dune buggies on the trails. I hate it but I understand why they need to manage the land use, people would love it to death. We have gone to the Swell for so long that I think I should be the only one there. I will start hiking all the canyons that I keep putting off in the next couple of years. I think that severe regulations are coming soon. I think that Obama will sign the Swell into a National Monument before he leaves office. We will just move on and explore all the other trails out there. When I really need my batteries recharged I will go for a solo hike in the Swell. I have only lost 2 lbs. since Carolyn left which puts me at 220. Not bad but I would have liked more. Just Run

Thursday, October 14, 2010

Sore

I was so sore that I could hardly move yesterday but I still did a workout. I ran 3.15 mile and burned 454 calories. Not much fun but I did it. Probably won't post again until Sunday. Just Run

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Good workout

I was able to get in a good workout yesterday. I lifted weights for 45 minutes and ran 5.05 miles which burned 1066 calories. A hard workout for a change. I need to keep this kind of workout going and the weight will fall off. Just run

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Will power

I have to count getting the coal as my workout yesterday. By the time I got home from work and getting coal it was almost 6:30 pm and I had no energy for a treadmill run. 45 minutes of loading coal is just as good as my slow run, at least that is what I am telling myself, and I am sticking to it. I call it a 3.01 mile run which burned 454 calories. I need to get back to 30 mile weeks. That is the shape that I want. I haven't lost any weight so far this week even though I think that I should have. Even though I am tired I need to work harder and eat less. Stay consistent

Sunday, October 10, 2010

One day at a time

The first day after setting my new goal and I did not want to exercise. I got up this morning and decided to take the wheeler and ride a road at the top of the devide just before you drop down into Salt Creek canyon. The road goes to Indianola and was only 8 miles long. Almost all of the property on both side of the road was private. I came back on another road that took me in Fountain Green. There is a wheeler track that runs along side the highway that took me to the other place I wanted to ride, Log Canyon. This is only a mile from the first road but on the west side of the highway. The canyon was beautiful. Steep sided canyon with a lot of conglomerate rock. A fun day riding about 55 miles. I hooked up the utility trailer so I can get coal after work tomorrow. I was ready to get into the shower but got on the treadmill instead. Did 3.01 miles and burned 454 calories. Glad that I did. I will do this one day at a time just like when I stopped drinking

Saturday, October 9, 2010

10 more pounds maybe

Well I can settle down for awhile. Carolyn made it to Oki after several delays. Now I will start with my plan. I will run or ride the bike every day while she is gone. Today I took the wheeler from the house out to the boonies to get away from people so I could get in a peaceful run. I did 3.15 miles and it took me so long the my Garman said I burned 625 calories. I think that is a little much. So there is my start. I just checked the GPS and I had my weight set at 236. I am 222 so the calories would not be that many. I got a runners high. The first time in a long time. The end of the 3 miles I ran hard for the last half mile and I think that kicked in the endorphins. I have most of the junk ate up in the house. Now I have to eat clean or go to the store. If you know me I will eat everything in the house before I break down and go to the store. So this is good. My goal is another 10 pounds which would put my at 212 by the time Carolyn comes home the end of the month. Wish me the will power to do it

Monday, October 4, 2010

October

Here we go with another new month. I need it to be better than last month because I only ran 12 miles. My weight stayed the same but my blood pressure is starting to go up again. I need to get back to running my 30 mile weeks. That keeps the weight off and my blood pressure down. With the 30 mile weeks let me run races up to the marathon distance. Mom is leaving soon for OKI. I have made a few plans for my 3 day weekends. I will take the trailer and the wheeler to the San Rafael for two of them. I might still take my road bicycle and the Jetta to Lava for a 3 dayer. I have work I need to do on the house before the snow flies, we will see. I plan to eat lite while she is gone and exercise like crazy and see how much weight I can lose before she gets back. My weight is still 222.8. I will post my other stats later. JUST RUN

Tuesday, September 28, 2010

I have been lax in posting again. It has been 10 days since my last post. I haven't been doing exercising at all. No excuse. The smoke hasn't been bad for awhile and I have been feeling OK. Breathing is a little rough but that is to be expected for this time of the year. Yesterday while I was waiting for mom I jumped on the treadmill and did 2.05 miles and burned a little over 200 calories. Arlene's mom Georgine died on the 26th. She was such a nice lady. We have known her as long as we have know Arlene. It is really sad because she is Diane's mom also. Diane, having just lost Leon last month and now losing her mom has to be hard on her. We are driving mom and dad up to Salt Lake on Friday for the funeral. Sad to see so many of there generation passing away. It is such a loss to have such wonderful people gone. Just remember all the good times

Sunday, September 19, 2010

Keep posting your workouts

We were on the Skyline Drive at the top of Fairview Canyon for three days this weekend. It was so nice to get away and ride the wheeler. I need to start running again when we are out like that. It was so much fun to find a trail and Just Run until I got tired. Will do that when she is in Okie for a month. I am glad everyone is posting. Reading that one of us had did a good workout and that we didn't might motivate us the next day to get a workout in. Didn't get in much exercise this week. Work has been busy and I have been letting is get in the way of my working out. Need to get the new recreation position filled and winter to get here so things settle down. I plan on doing my 3 mile runs this week. We have a major fire south of us, that is making the air smokey, effecting my breathing. Don't know what will happen with that. Jared, we are on for Top of Utah Marathon next year. We need to plan on a couple of half marathons this spring and summer to get us motivated and in shape. Send me your weight so I can post it on the board. I am down to 222.8 lbs. and staying there. I need motivation so I can post a loss for the month of September. Everyone lets get on the ball and post some major improvements. Just Run

Tuesday, September 14, 2010

Short runs

I got in a 3.01 mile run on the treadmill yesterday which I figured burned a little over 300 calories. I had no breathing problems at all. I was sore from getting wood. I think I will try and get in a couple weeks of 3 mile runs before I increase my mileage. With winter coming on I don't have to worry to much about my breathing. I am glad to see everyone writing again.

Monday, September 13, 2010

Got wood!

I said I was going to write even if I did not exercise, but as you can see I haven't posted for a week. I only got in a 2.46 mile walk last week because of my allergies. I did get a Kenalog shot for my allergies last week and it helped. Along with taking my meds. and the shot, I am doing better. I will try and run today on the treadmill here at work and see how that goes. Bill and the kids helped get our winter wood on Friday. There help was sure appreciated because we couldn't have did it without them. My allergies were pretty calm, with all the sawdust and dirt, things went well. We are taking the trailer out for the last time this weekend. The weather has started to turn off cold and will need to winterize the trailer soon. Summer has flown by as usual. No races this year, just haven't felt it. They use to be so much fun, I will have to figure that out.

Monday, September 6, 2010

Labor Day

I figured out why everything has been so hard the last while. It should be a no brainer but as usually I am not to sharp. My allergies are out of control, so back on the meds. and a long weekend off exercising. The Fall is the worse time for my allergies and the wind has been blowing like crazy for a month. Again I will just have to gut it out and wait for the first hard freeze. Can't wait. Friday we did go for a long wheeler ride from home to Joe's Valley Marina,where we had lunch. From the Marina we took a trail we had never been on south to Ferron Canyon Road, up and around the south side of Ferron Mountain to 12 Mile Campground, along the Skyline Drive to Manti Canyon back home. A total of 93.7 miles, what a days ride. We were both exhausted most of the weekend. Her knee was hurting her a bit more than normal. No exercise this weekend and I did to much eating. The scale will show the results tomorrow. Will get back on track tomorrow.

Friday, September 3, 2010

Lifetime habit

Todays exercise was ok. I got in 145 push ups. I ran for 3.01 miles and burned around 365 calories on the run. I felt tired today and I think my body is just not used to exercising anymore. I can't believe how fast you can get out of shape. With the fast weight loss and picking up the amount of exercise I will just have to gut it out. I can't sleep tonight and that alone is a sign of overtraining. I am not stopping so my body just needs to get use to it. I want to make this a lifetime habit. Be Consistent

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

August, a good month!

August was a very good month for me. I feel good about my workouts as they were more consistent. My eating was more the way it should be to be healthy. At the beginning of the month I took my stats and they were not good. My blood pressure on the 1st was 140/93, on the 15th 125/83 and on the 31st 126/78, so much better. Working out more consistently and eating better sure pays off. My waist started at 47.5" on the 1st, 46" on the 15th and I am really happy today with 45". Lost 2.5" in a month, it can be done. I didn't go crazy with my mileage running, I was just consistent with my workouts. I got in 43.49 miles for the month. My working out was a mix of running, swimming, weight lifting, yoga, biking and I did a lot of push-ups. My total workout time was 15.24 hours which I am happy with. It shows me that I can get rid of my belly. It will take time but it is possible. Just be consistent

Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Just one cheeseburger

I am trying to change the way I eat my food and the amount. Day before yesterday we had cheeseburgers on monster buns. One would have been plenty but I had to make two, then having two on my plate, I ate both. As large as they were one would have been plenty with all the condiments. Switch to last night. I was having leftover cheeseburgers. I took two of them out of the fridge and went to nuke them when I remembered the night before. I decided to only nuke one and see how full I was after that. It was a good thing because after one I was quite full. Along with a few chips and two Popsicles for dessert I was quite content. I even felt better about the 3.57 miles run that burned 320 calories I did. If I can just remember I don't have to put two cheeseburgers on my plate next time. Just Run

Monday, August 30, 2010

Staying power

I was thinking how I yo-yo diet all the time. Something gets us really motivated and we stay on our diet for awhile. Then something happens and we fall off. We see major results when we first start out and then they taper off to a modest level. I understand that. Why can't I stay motivated and finally reach my goal of being healthy. I know there are a lot of distractions out there to derail the hard effort we have put in achieving my goal. What happens to us mentally, to have this not be important anymore, that we start eating ourselves to death again. We went for a 62 mile wheeler ride Sunday. It was very windy and quite cold up on the Skyline, but we both enjoyed our 6 hour ride. We are planning another long wheeler ride for Friday. I will post my new totals on the first of September. Just Run

Saturday, August 28, 2010

Be grateful

Friday I went for a long wheeler ride up 6 Mile Canyon over the top and down Manti Canyon. It was fun because I did it in the evening hours. A 41 miles ride I am counting as my Friday workout. Today I ran for 4.01 miles and most likely burned 400+ calories. No push-up so far but the day isn't over yet. My weight is coming down because I have been more consistent in exercising and being better with my diet. I need to get the weight off before that new government fat tax kicks in. Never know, it just might be in our future, the way we are being mothered by our government. Being a Libertarian is looking better all the time. I have to be grateful for the things that I have in these tough times. Everything that is going well right now could change in a heart beat. So be grateful for what you have and don't constantly bitch about the things you don't have or the things you can't change. Just Run

Thursday, August 26, 2010

Keep on running

I am glad that is it Thursday the beginning of my weekend. There used to be two people doing the job the I am now doing by myself. Having a clientele of 1500 means that we are not the small Mayberry we use to be. I am running around like a chicken with its head cut off, but it does help with the weight loss. Hopefully in a couple of months I will have a counter part and it will slow down. Winter is coming on and it slows down considerable. Yesterday I only got in 50 push ups with nothing else. Today I ran for 3.75 miles with 100 push ups and burned 456 calories. I think I was giving myself to many calories for these 3+ mile runs. I think 456 is closer. The push ups are getting easier but the running is not. Keep on running

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

Push ups

Didn't want to run today but I did. I want to get to the place in my workouts where they are so much of a habit that I don't even think about doing them. Can't wait for that day. A fairly good workout today, I did 100 push ups, with a 3.69 mile run for a calorie burn of around 600. Consistency

Monday, August 23, 2010

8/23/10

I got in a little better workout today. I did 90 PU,s and ran 3.26 miles which burned around 600 calories. Still trying to keep a good attitude. Just do something

Saturday, August 21, 2010

8/21/10

Not much but something! Ran 1.74 miles, with 20 push-up which burned 295 calories . Oh well

Friday, August 20, 2010

Miss you Leon

I don't think anybody out there read this blog but it is a good dairy for me. Today is a sad day for my family because a good long time family friend past away after a long illness. Leon Mortensen has been linked to my family through being married to my sister-in-law's sister. He grew up with my dad over in Emery County, Utah. Leon had a good heart and if he liked you would do almost anything for you. I have know him and his children for years having played, partied worked and camped with them. He will be missed. Workout. I got in 85 push-up yesterday, no cardio. I just finished a 3.12 mile run out on the farm lanes along with 80 push-up burning 601 calories.

Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Pick it up

I might be taking to many baby steps. Today I only got in 2.01 miles and 65 push-ups. I know it is better than nothing but I need to pick it up. We were susposed to go swimming tonight but we both talked ourselves out of it. Can't do that anymore. I burned about 250 calories. I will pick it up this weekend

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Baby steps

I am trying to get up to 200 push-ups a day (Brandon planted the seed). Today I did 61 which is 1 more than yesterday. I ran 2.2o miles on the treadmill at work for a total calorie burn of 549. I sometimes feel like these workout aren't much. Then I remind myself baby steps lead to great gains as long as you are consistent, which I will be this time

Monday, August 16, 2010

Another one down

Today at work I got in 30+ minutes of upper body workout including 60 push-ups. We went to the pool after work for a water jog. I tried out the new goggles which worked great. The actual swimming was the challenge. I need an extreme amount of practicing my swimming before a triathlon will be coming my way. Like a huge whale with a harpoon in its side, no the whale would have looked more graceful. 4 day in a row and still feel motivated to do more. I figure I burned about 613 calories today. Another one down and by the end of the week I want a bag full of workouts. Just do something

Sunday, August 15, 2010

Down but still need work

Today has been a lazy day with me not doing much. The highlight of the day has been going to Wal-mart. I'm a little wasted from yesterdays excursion with the run and the wheeler ride in the heat. I did spiff up the 4 wheeler and it sure needed it. Now it looks like new. It has been 15 days since I started again to stay consistent with my exercise and eating. I started with:
Weight...........234.6 -------------8/15------ 224.6 .............-10 lbs.
Body Fat.........31.4% -----------------------33.3%
Blood Pressure...140/93 -------------------125/83 ------Better but still needs work
Pulse............74 ---------------------------- 67
Waist............47.50 -------------------------46" ----------Minus 1.5 inches
I have been sick so this reflects the stomach bug I had but I will take them anyways. I might go for a walk after it cools down. I would like to do something!!!!!Well its's been an hour since I did the original post and I did get off my butt. got on the treadmill and walked 1.5 miles and burned 273 calories. Three day in a row. Can you believe IT

Saturday, August 14, 2010

Try it you might like it

Today is a better day for me because I feel much better. I decided to get my running clothes on and take the wheeler out west for a ride run. I got in 3.01 miles of rocky, hilly, hot dirt roads and it was great while burning 564 calories in the process. I rode 35 miles and part of it was in 4 wheel drive bushwhacking on a trail someone had tried to open. A very good workout which burned more calories. I will post my weight for the first 15 days of the month tomorrow. I have been bummed out for a week or so with things that I have no control over. I find that this stress is hard to handle along with having been sick for 2 weeks. For the last 18 years my stress reliever has been running. It might not make things any better, but it relieves the stress. I had forgot how important my running is to me. Running is my drug of choice and I will hold it forever close to my heart. Try it you might like it

Friday, August 13, 2010

Waste of time

Well I spoke a little to soon about feeling better. Wednesdays night I was up throwing up most of the night. Carolyn made me go to the doctor, (even made the appointment), Thursday. He ask me what was going on and I said: I went to the Dentist Monday and he said I needed a root canal and made me an appointment with a Specialist in Provo for the following Monday. He asked if I needed pain meds., I said no. He asked if I felt like there was any swelling and if I needed antibotics, I said no. I told the Doctor that Thursday night I started throwing up with the runs and a fever, that I thougth it was a stomach bug. Also on Thursday Carolyn had a Dentist appt. to have a crown put on and I ask her to ask the Dentist for the pain meds and antibotics that he had offered. So here I am throwing up and trying to take these meds. on an empty stomach, which I think made things worse. So after telling all this to the Doctor and him looking in my mouth to make sure the the tooth is not infected, guess what he said. I agree with everything you have said and gave me something for neausa and told me to stop taking the other meds., (which I already HAD). Waste of time!!!!!!!! I was setting here feeling sorry for myself cause I can't run. Then I thougt, I can walk. Remember I alway say just do something, anything is better than nothing. So I went for a 1.5 mile walk and burned 273 calories that I would not have burned other wise.. Did you enjoy my book? Just do something

Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Light at the end of the tunnel

Feeling a little better today, but will not exercise, stomach still a bit unsettled. I do feel like there is a light at the end of the tunnel. We need to be consistent even if it is a short workout. Type of workout doesn't matter as long as we get one in. Jared, jump in and let me know what exercising you do. You said you got in a 40+ mile week running. I can use all the motivation I can get. Let me know if you are still losing weight and how much. Just takes a minute to stay in touch.. Be consistent.

Saturday, August 7, 2010

Flu

I have another set back to go along with the bad tooth. I have had the stomach flu since Thursday. A lot of throwing up with a fever. Don't have a clue where I got this from. I will put my exercising on hold until I get the tooth fixed and get over this flu bug. That's just the way things go.

Wednesday, August 4, 2010

Blood Pressure

Day 3 and I still have a good attitude and still motivated. My weight this morning is 232.2. So since 8/1 I have lost -2.4 lbs. I know that initially I will lose weight easily and then it gets harder. I don't want to get crazy obsessed about the weight. I need to get my blood pressure under control because I really don't want to be on the meds. It was 125/88 and pulse was 71. Just a few days getting back to exercising and the results speak for themselves. Yesterday I road the bike for 13.7 miles for a burn of 728 calories. It was in the 90's with a little wind, so not to bad of a workout. When I quit being so sore from the weight workout I will start with the 200 push-ups a day. When I get used to them I will start with set-ups. Here we go with the goals again. Stay Consistent

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Root canal

Two days down and so far so good. Yesterday I lifted weights for 45 minutes, quite intensively. I burned 477 calories. I was to sore to bike as I had planned. Will try and get that in today weather permitting (supposed to rain). Treadmill if no biking. I did not snack today but I did eat quite a bit. I have a tooth that needs a root canal (my first in 61 years). It is causing more pain than I like. My regular dentist is sending me to a specialist in Provo to fix it. This is all suppose to happen Monday. I have a high pain tolerance except when it comes to my teeth. Don't like the Dentist visits. Starting Wt. 234.6 Yesterdays Wt. 234.2 for a loss of .4lbs. Trying to be consistent

Sunday, August 1, 2010

Yes again!

I think I will give it another shot. Getting in shape that is. Last month didn't quite work out. I just haven't been feeling up to par lately and I need to do something. So here I go again. I took all of my stats 8-1-10 and they are not good. I am posting them so I will be held accountable.
Weight....................234.6
Body Fat................31.4%
Blood Pressure...140/93
Pulse.............................74
Chest.......................48.75
Waist.......................47.50
Hips.........................42.25
Age................................61
This is so unhealthy I can't believe that I used to run Marathons, 50K's, 50 milers. I have been watching Ironman Triathlons and thinking that would be fun if I could get the swimming down. AH, AH, AH.
I started with a 5 miles mountain run/walk up behind the Jail. 90 something degrees and 30 % humidity (high for us). My old Garmin GPS says I burned 1085 calories. I have not ate any junk and will try to get that under control so I can get the weight down. Here I got on another adventure where I will try to be CONSISTENT this time before I crook!

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

Slacker

I am counting yesterdays wheeler ride as a workout. 4 hours on some of the roughest trails I have ever rode. I am so sore that I hurt all over. It has been 3 weeks since I have worked out seriously. I am just a slacker. Things will come around, they usually do. I don't mind the time off, it's the weigth gain that I can't take. Been doing yard work every weekend trying to catch up, so I haven't just been sitting around. Just do something

Thursday, July 1, 2010

ATTITUDE

You ever had weeks where you make up every excuse in the world not to workout. I am having one of those weeks. There is no sound reason I have not worked out other than my attitude. It sucks. I am blaming it on my big belly. The last few years I have developed quite a ponch. Lately it is massive. There is not a lot of things that I can change with the way I look, but my gut is one that I have total control over. Well July 1st is a good starting date to start gut busters. We are going to Lava for the weekend and I will get my attitude in check, (I know mom will like that). Workout some each day. Stay consistent!

Saturday, June 26, 2010

95 degrees and raising

I am enjoying riding my bike. The heat is not a problem. If the winds not blowing I can ride faster creating a nice breeze cooling me off. If the wind is blowing I have to work harder even though I am going slow but I still am cooled off by the wind. The only time it is hard on my asthma is if the wind is blowing so hard I can't recover until I change directions. It is easier for me than running and I still get a good workout. I can still ride in 100 degree weather where running is almost impossible. Thursday I got in a 16.8 mile ride in 95 degree weather. I am liking it

Thursday, June 24, 2010

Summer is here

It seems like on the 21st summer hit Sanpete. We were in the low 80s up until then. Now we are in the upper 80s, low 90s. At least I have been riding in it so I am used to it. The seat is getting a little easier on the butt. Monday I got in 45 minutes of weight lifting and 35 minutes of running. Tuesday I got in a 16.8 miles bike ride. Things are coming along good for the summer. Love the summer

Saturday, June 19, 2010

Bicycle seat

Friday I cleaned and lubed my bike and it sure needed it. I hadn't cleaned it since last year. Today, Saturday, I rode for another 20.1 miles in 2h00m and burned 1172 calories. Went out Jensen lane to Sterling, rode around Sterling back to Manti, then rode around Manti for awhile. I took my time and enjoyed the scenery for a change. I put Butt Butter on my shammy which is a cream that is supposed to prevent chaffing. I have used it in the past and it really dose work. The rash is almost gone. The muscles that you set on where the seat contacts your butt is still sore. Jim Smith told me that is the hardest part of bicycling, getting your butt toughened up. I don't have a lot of trouble with my legs or the rest but that bicycle seat is something else.

Friday, June 18, 2010

6/17/10

Got in another good bike ride. I rode 20 miles in 1h33m and burned 1026 calories. I did a hill at the end which was pretty tough. A little chaffing from the seat. I hope my butt gets toughen up soon. I bought swimming goggles so I can do laps in the pool. If I can get my swimming down I might try a Sprint Triathlon????

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

6/15/10

I am sore from the weight lifting yesterday. I guess that is expected since I haven't lifted for so long. I got in a 1h20 minute 16.8 mile 903 calorie burning bike ride today. A little windy but a good ride. I am slowly getting used to the bike seat. It is amazing how long it takes me to get used to that seat. Ride on

Monday, June 14, 2010

6/14/10

Haven't wrote in almost a month. Thanks to Brandon for motivating me to post again. I never stopped exercising just felt that there was no one out there reading, so why write, except as a journal. Got in 40 minutes of weight lifting and 2.05 miles of mostly walking. Burned about 576 calories. No Excuses

Thursday, April 29, 2010

04/29/10

Well I got through the Insanity workout which about killed me. It was 55 minutes in length and I figured I was able to do 40 minutes of it. I burned somewhere around 950 calories for the day with both workouts. I ended up setting in my office for 30 minutes after the Insanity workout just sipping water. I was that wasted. The other night I made me some nachos and last night I had a cheeseburger, fries and a large carmel/marshmellow shake. I have worked my but off the last 2 days and then I sabotage it by eating this junk. WHY WHY WHY!!!!!!. NO EXCUSES

Wednesday, April 28, 2010

Bicycling in the wind

About 4 pm I went for a bike ride during the windiest part of the day. Lucky it was mostly flat. I did 13.9 miles and burned 1105 calories. Most likely burned more with the wind but 1105 is good. I felt it this morning in my whole body so I pushed myself through the 40 minutes of YRG. The class made fun of my because of all my moaning. But I did it and burned 417 calories. I have Insanity at 2 pm this afternoon, we will see how that goes. Then maybe some water jogging tonight. NO EXCUSES

Tuesday, April 27, 2010

04/27/10

Life is good! I have found something that has been in front of me for the last 5 years. Exercising with my classes. I am feeling better and the weight is coming off AGAIN. I got in 2 hours of cardio yesterday and burned a bunch of calories. Just exercise. NO EXCUSES

Monday, April 26, 2010

04/26/10

I got in another good week of exercise with 6 hour and 42 minutes of exercise. Only a little over 8 miles of running but quite a bit of cardio. This morning I did 45 minutes of YRG. No Excuses

Sunday, April 25, 2010

04/25/10

No exercise Friday or Saturday but did do yard work. Today road the bike for 10 miles and burned 850 calories. It was windy and chilly so it was a more difficult workout. Will try and ride the bike more. Billy and the kids were down for the weekend and had a good visit. Just workout, do something, no excuses

Friday, April 23, 2010

04/23/10

Yesterday I got in a 3.50 mile run on the treadmill. I was awful sore from the previous day and could hardly move. That is what made the run. Doing it when you hurt and don't want to. I am still losing weight. Today it is snowing again. With the pollen so high one day and snowing or raining the next, it is hard to get outdoors to run. I just need to get some sort of exercise in anyway because it all adds up. NO EXCUSES!

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

04/21/10

Today was my killer day. I got in 45 minutes YRG, 55 minutes of Insanity and a 1 hour water jog which burned 1592 calories. All but the swimming was at work, which is great. I think as long as you are active and watch what you eat it will pay off in the long run. My first love will always be running but I think a change up does the mind and body good. NO EXCUSES!

Monday, April 19, 2010

04/19/10

I did yard aerobics again this weekend. At least that is what Grandpa calls yard work. Last week I was able to get in 5 hours and 52 minutes of exercise. I have been feeling better. Since the first of April I have lost 5.8 pounds without trying that hard. Watching what I eat and working out with my classes has helped. I had to quit beating myself up because I was not running what I thought I should. It looks like I will most likely cancel my Ogden Marathon in May. I just have not had the urge to run that much. We will see, I have been known to change my mind. No EXCUSES

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

4/13/10

I don't know if I have mentioned I have been doing yard work. Pruning trees and hauling limbs to the burn pit. I have a bunch of project to take care of around the house. That is one of the reasons I started doing the workouts with my class at work. This morning I was able to get in 40 minutes of YRG which burned 400 calories. Yesterday afternoon I ran for 5.58 miles and burned 828 calories. No excuses

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

4/12/10

I got in a YRG workout this morning before I got my migraine headache, not much fun. I still have not been running much but I am getting in workouts. With the YRG, P90X and the new Insanity workouts I have at least been doing something. Running and bike riding will come. Main thing is just do something active

Friday, April 9, 2010

4/9/10

I was quite beat up Mon. Tues. and Weds. so I took a couple days off, live to play another day. We have the Ballet tonight so we will see how the workout goes. Hang in there and keep working out.

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

04/07/10

For over 5 years now I have been doing lectures to my classes on everything to do with fitness. When the lecture was over they would do a workout and I would read my fitness mags. That is 5 years of workout I would have been paid to do. The reason I did not workout with the Inmates was the comments that our Staff would make whenever a staff member would workout with them. I decided to hell with them, I need these workouts in the morning to burn calories the rest of the day. So I started on 04/05/10 doing the workouts and no one has dared make a comment to me so far. Yesterday I ran 4.01 miles in 45 minutes and burned 410 calories. Billy, YRG means Yoga For Real Guys. I found out about it when Diamond Dallas Page was here making the movie and we were all setting on the grass talking. I hand picked 16 inmates to be in this class. They are all over weight, have health problems and most have never worked out. After the first 6 classes most are losing weight and feel somewhat better. I'll try and get you a copy. No excuses, just do it

Tuesday, April 6, 2010

04/06/10

My breathing is doing better and I don't wheeze as much. I got in a monster workout yesterday. I did 20 minutes of YRG. My class did a 90 minute session for Insanity, which I was only able to do 46 minutes of. Walked on the treadmill for 26 minutes while waiting for your mom. Mom and I did 60 minutes of water jogging at the pool. I am starting to lose weight again. No Excuses, Just Workout

Friday, April 2, 2010

4/1/2010

I kept my promise to myself and did a walk on the treadmill yesterday. I wanted to start up again and to see how my breathing was. On Monday I got another Kenalog shot which seemed to help quite a bit. We did have two days on very strong winds, which stirred up dust and pollens. I was on the treadmill for 70 minutes to check out my breathing. I warmed up slowly, then a little faster. I finally ran 4.5 for one miles, then I caught my breath walking. I did incline walking for awhile. It was tough but hopefully, for now, the worse is behind me. I got in 4.03 miles and burned 480 calories. Well, I did not disappoint myself by not working out, and got in an April 1st workout. No Excuses Just Run

Monday, March 29, 2010

March 31st a new beginning

I have not been posting because I have not been exercising. I don't want to look like I am feeling sorry for myself, so no posts. I have had allergy and asthma problems for half of Feb. and all of March. For some reason this year has been a real problem for me in the breathing department. I take all my regular meds. and on top of that I got a Kenalog shot on the 23rd. I have an appointment with Armstrong today to get his opinion. I have gained weight and that is most likely a big part of the problem. Mom and I decided to give each other a different type of anniversary present this year. We promised each other that we will eat better and cut out the junk we eat at the house. That start on Weds. Will let you know how this works

Monday, March 15, 2010

Goal setting

Reading Brandon's blog he said; no more goals. I am wondering if that is the way to go. I know when I set a goal, then not follow through with it, I get depressed. I have set eating goals, weight loss goals, running goals, bicycling goals, weight lifting goals, projects around the house goals. Some I keep and some I don't. When I fall off the goal wagon and get depressed for not meeting my goal, I eat, stop exercising, or both. I will think about this and then decide if I will set any more goals. Last week I ran 7.95 miles in 1h22m. I water jogged for 2 hours and with both the run and water jog I burned 2414 calories. I did not meet my goal of 30 miles running. Goal setting?????? Another 4 inches of snow and white is still my favorite color, for now. Have fun

Thursday, March 11, 2010

3/11/10

Yesterday I was able to get in 20 minutes of YRG, 4.20 miles of running and a 1 hour water jog for a total calorie burn of 1322. It was a good workout day. I started sneezing with a runny nose around 7 this morning. By 9:30 I was chilling and put on my coat. I really hope that this is just allergies. Just Run

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

3/9/10

Got in 15.67 miles in 3h24m burned 2819 calories last week. We had a nice weekend in Kanab. The weather was good and most of all there was very little snow. Yesterday I was able to get a 3.75 miles run, a 1 hour water jog and burned a total of 1082 calories. Good start to the week. I bought a new pair of New Balance 906 trail shoes. I crushed the Montrail Masochist trail shoes that I only have 112 miles on. They were a light weight shoe which I loved but not built for a 240 lb. person. I will still get my mileage out of them with short trail runs. A good start to the week. Get in some sort of activity this week

Thursday, March 4, 2010

3/4/10

Got in 5.53 mile and burned 927 calories in my walk/run today. A good workout. My legs are sore like I have never did this before. Like Brandon I am not going to put down my times. The time will be better as the fitness gets better. So I will let that take care of it's self. Snowed 4 more inches today and another coming in for the weekend. Cell phones will be on. Just Run

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

3/3/10

Yesterday was an ok day. I got in 4.08 miles of mostly walking with a little running in 60 minutes and burned 747 calories. Not that great but at least I did something. We are going to Kanab for the weekend and it should be fun. Just try and get in some type of exercise each day

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

March second!

Yesterday was a good day. I logged everything that I ate and the total calories were1925 with a protein count of 115. I need to add a little more protein. I will continue to adjust these amount with the amount of exercise I get. I treadmilled it yesterday for 6.06 miles in 84 minutes and burned 1145 calories. I have to walk quite a bit to get loose, so I shouldn't get to upset about how long it takes me to do 6 miles. I will try speed work once a week. I am not going to post my blood pressure but once a week (to depressing) and it takes awhile before it starts going down. My starting weight was 242.2 and this morning I was 239.2, a good start, wish I could loss that everyday. Stay Positive and Just Run

Monday, March 1, 2010

March first!

Here I go again, starting over, again. I am hoping for a better attitude since spring is just around the corner. Looking back through my logs I seem to flounder the months of January and February. My mileage for Jan and Feb 09 was 54 miles. My mileage for Jan and Feb 10 is 90 miles. It must be the time of year. Since I am aware that my mileage suck during these 2 months next year I can do something about it. Went for a ride Saturday to the Swell which helped my cabin fever. We have a outing planned for this weekend which will be fun. Here are my stats and they are not good. 3/1/10 I am 242.2 lbs with 41.2 % body fat. My blood pressure is 146/93 and my pulse is 75. I don't have to tell anyone that is not good. I have the Ogden Marathon in 10 weeks so time to get moving. Three weeks later I have Utah Valley Marathon. I am not going to set any weight loss goals. I just need to get healthy. I need to feel comfortable in my skin again. I will try and stay more positive with everything. Stay positive and Just Run

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

02/17/10

No exercise the last few days. I am feeling better, just no motivation. I am thinking for things that will motivate me. New shoes: I still have 4 pair with fairly low mileage on them, so no. Clothes: I have everything I need to run in. Enter a race: I am entered in Ogden Marathon in May and still no motivation. New diet: No urge to diet at all. I have even gained 5 pounds. Something new for the bike: I have everything I need to ride. Bike is set up for a 100 mile plus ride and no movitation here either. I have a bad case of something? I will work on getting out of this mood

Sunday, February 14, 2010

02/14/10

It was 50 degrees or very close. I had to get out and do something. Another bicycle ride to Sterling. 10 miles in 54 minutes and burned 554 calories. These short rides hopefully will get my butt used to the bicycle seat. Legs had alot of life in them yesterday but were pretty dead today. Riding is easier on me than running. I need to mix it up and not get locked into doing one thing. Just run, Just ride, just do something

Saturday, February 13, 2010

2/13/2010

Well I didn't do much of anything that I posted yesterday. I didn't go to the ballet, get a massage or go swimming with the kids. I stayed home yesterday and laid on the couch. I was going stark raving mad by late morning. I got the road bicycle out to the shed, put on the warm riding clothes, 44 degrees and went for a ride to Sterling. Got in a 10 miler in 53 minutes and burned 553 calories. Helped my crazies somewhat. Just do something

Friday, February 12, 2010

Our 2/12 Brandon's 2/13

I hope you read this. Happy Birthday to you. Happy birthday to you and many more. We hope you have a really nice day planned with your family. Hope you do something special and have a wonderful time. Mom and I are going to Swan Lake tonight. I think this is here favorite Ballet. Tomorrow morning I am going to the college for a massage to see if I can get the kinks out. Then tomorrow afternoon we are supposed to go swimming with Billy's family at the Murray A.C. After that we will come home. I don't know if we will be able to get in touch with you by telephone with you sleeping and us at that ballet. I doesn't start till 7pm. If you wake up give us a call on the cell. I haven't worked out since Monday because I don't feel well. I thought I was coming down with something but it seemed an awful lot like allergies. I slept good last night and that helped some. I will try and get in some running while in Murray if the inversion isn't to bad or at the AC. Well you take care and have a wonderful birthday. We love and miss you guys alot. Just Run

Wednesday, February 10, 2010

02/09/10

I didn't feel much like working out yesterday and it wasn't because of motivation. I don't know if I am coming down with something or my allergies are acting out. I am thinking it is allergies. I will try and get in a run this afternoon and see how that feels. I got in 7.5 hours of sleep, which is good for me. We have the ballet Friday. I think Saturday morning I will get a massage at the college. I believe I need it. After the massage mom wants to take the kids swimming at Murray rec. center before we come home. With Monday off I will get in a 10+ mile run to get me back on schedule. During this long weekend my goal is to get motivated. Keep up an active lifestyle

Tuesday, February 9, 2010

02/08/10

I am having a hard time getting the runs in this year. I know it is alright to start out slow and built throughout the year. Yesterday I got in a 2.01 miles run walk in 33 minutes and burned 310 calories. Water jogging for 1 hour and burned 450 calories for a total workout time of 1h33m and burned a total of 760 calories. My totals for last week were: Run 19.91 miles in 3h45m. Water jog for 2 hours for a total workout time of 5h45m and burned a total of 4298 calories. I want to pick up my mileage. It seems I don't have the motivation right now. I will work on getting motivated in the coming days. 90 miles from January 1st just don't cut it. JUST GET MOTIVATED

Monday, February 8, 2010

02/07/10

Yesterday I got in 5.06 miles in 1 hour and burned 860 calories. Just run

Sunday, February 7, 2010

02/06/10

No workout Saturday. It snowed about an inch but was gone by 12:00. I cleaned the chimney and stove. Put a heat tape in the rain gutters to see if it will keep the ice out and let it drain. The snow finally melted enough so I could bring in the rest of the Christmas decorations and extension cords. Helped with some house cleaning. I could have exercised but just didn't want to. I wanted 7 days of ex. but got 6 and that is OK. Life's good

Saturday, February 6, 2010

02/05/10

I am still doing quite a bit of treadmill running. I even run with the jerky treadmill at home. The weather is starting to shape up a little. We have hit highs in the low 40's which might not seem like it's very warm but it is better then the high teens and low 20's. Yesterday I got in 3.50 miles in 45 minutes and burned 595 calories. Good run, good workout

Friday, February 5, 2010

02/04/10

I have had a hard time this week getting motivated. Yesterday I forgot my clothes, like I did Monday. I wanted to bag it right then and there. I was already in the dressing room when I found this out. I had 45 minutes to kill before I could leave work so I decided to change into my running shoes,(which I leave there all the time), and go for a run in my work clothes. I don't like to do this because of the chaffing in the you know where area from the cotton underwear. I figured what the hell and got on the treadmill for a walk. I ended up with a pretty good workout. I ran/walked for 3.39 miles in 43 minutes and burned 608 calories. You would think that since I have been doing this as long as I have it would simple be a habit that I wouldn't even have to think about. WRONG! I am procrastinating right now. I need to get out the door and Just Run

Thursday, February 4, 2010

02/03/10

I had a very good workout today. Can you believe today's workout was motivated by my workout yesterday. How can I be motivated by a workout from another day. Remember I did not want to workout yesterday but, I did. When you stick with your workout plan and do the workouts even when you don't want to or don't feel like it motivates your psyche. I ran for 5.71 miles and swam 1h for a total time of 2h20m and burned 1399 calories. Life is so good when you exercise

Wednesday, February 3, 2010

2/2/10

Tuesday I didn't have very much energy. I almost bagged it for the workout portion of my day. Instead I talked myself into going down and walking on the treadmill and see how it goes.I ended up walking for 2.25 miles which took 37 minutes which burned 382 calories. For not wanting to do anything it ended up a pretty good workout. It was one of those days you just do it and you are glad that you did.

Tuesday, February 2, 2010

2/1/10

We did our exercise at Gunnison pool. Those aqua jogger belts are pretty neat. They hold you upright in a slightly forward angle and you just run. It's a pretty good workout with the resistance of the water. After 55 minutes of non stop jogging I took the belt off to swim a couple of laps. I had a hard time getting in two lap and had to keep going to the breast stroke to rest. When you walk up the stairs after an hour in the pool your legs are dead. I try and stretch out while I jog. It is also relaxing and fun. We went for one hour and I burned 453 calories. Try and do something everyday until it becomes a habit. Workout and have fun.

Monday, February 1, 2010

Totals for January 2010

I ran 68.67 miles in 14h44m. We swam for 5h40m. Lifted weights for 1h40m. Total workout time was 22h04m and burned a total of 13,248 calories. From the time I put in kind of looks like a part time job. I didn't get in the 100 miles of running I wanted because of the injury. When everything is added up I had a pretty good month. I can gradually increase my miles to make up for not getting my 100. I did the same old thing when I injured myself. I started eating everything in sight. Went off the sugar buster and pigged out. I don't seem to be able to get a handle on this part of my life. I weighed 236.6 today. Being February 1st I will start again. I will try and stay positive. Just Run

Sunday, January 31, 2010

Mental health run!

Sunday! It was a sunny day with a temperature of 44 degrees, much better than 20. I just had to go for a run outside. I was able to run in my shorts and a long sleeve shirt. It was a teaser of things to come. I was out for 92 minutes, ran 7.01 miles and burned 1191 calories. I even did hills. I ran up 6th to 89 went south down off Lowery Hill, up Jensen Lane hill. Turned around and went down Jensen Lane Hill, up Palmer Hill to 5th west and home. Two good down hills and two good up hills. All I am able to do right now when I do the hills is run for one telephone pole then walk one until I get to the top. Injury update. Right shoulder feels pretty good. My right hip still hurts but I don't think that it is my only problem there. When I got a case of the shingles it was above my right hip. They say that the area where the out break occurred could become sore because the virus buries itself in the nerve endings close to the out break area and will become inflame when you over work that area. So it is not just the sciatic but the shingles giving me fits. I am stretching more which seem to be helping. Hopefully I can get back to losing weight again, a mental thing. Just Run.

Saturday, January 30, 2010

1/30/10

I said on the 26th that I would post even if I did not run or was injured. Now 4 days later I get around to posting. I have been taking it easy with my injury. I took a couple days off work and took muscle relaxers and all they did was make me sleepy. Went to Doctor Armstrong and he looked at me like what am I supposed to do. Send me to a surgeon, definitely not. Give me pain pills, not. More muscle relaxers, Not. He finally gave me another round of steroids. I am taking them and at night I take a pain pill we had left over so I get some sleep. It has helped. We had to get coal yesterday and the back flared up some. Slept good last night and unloaded the coal today. My back was tight so I thought what he heck, go for a run. I treadmilled it for 3.01 miles which took 40 minutes and burned 510 calories. First run in 15 days. Hard time getting going. I don't think I feel any worse than when I started. Actually somewhat better. I will do another one tomorrow. Just Run

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Please post even if your. ?????????

I have noticed that we don't post if we are injured, have a bad or non running week. Lets post from now on even if we have a terrible week. We need to know what is happening with each other. We need to know that we are not the only ones that have unusual set backs. I think sometimes that I should just be doing a journal for me to check back on. Maybe I don't understand what a blog is. I will keep posting when I can anyways.
It is Tues. and I have not ran since a week ago Sunday. I have been thinking what I might have did to injure myself this bad. When we were at the Gunnison pool on the 15th we were playing catch with a rubber football. I was already having some trouble with my sciatic nerve. When I would throw the football I would kick myself out of the pool so my arm was out of the water. I would throw the ball then try not to go under the water. I think that this twisting action caused my shoulder problem and caused more pain in my sciatic nerve. I am starting some stretching exercises today and see if I can lessen the pain. Today I will walk on the treadmill and then do the stretching routine. We will see. Just do something.

Sunday, January 24, 2010

???????

What's the name of my blog? Lets see, Oh ya, Staying Consistent. I have not ran for a week, not to consistent. I have one of those mysterious injuries where if I could cut myself right down the middle and through the right half away things would be better. I wish now that I had ran through it because I don't think I would feel any worse. I have this quite often but not necessarily on the upper and lower parts of my body at the same time. My sciatic usually hurts from the hip down the right leg. When my upper body hurts it is usually radiates under the right shoulder blade up to my neck over the shoulder and down my right arm ending in my thumb and index fingers. I don't remember having them together and hurt this bad. Driving the truck to Mesquite in foul weather didn't help one little bit. Self diagnosis: Rest did not help, or should I say no running, did not help. I.B. did not help. I will run tomorrow and see how I feel. I got in Zero running this week. No weights and no swimming. Most likely gained the 5 pounds back.

Monday, January 18, 2010

Week #2 completed

I'm glad Brandon's back. I keep my training log at work so I don't have my exact totals for the week. What I do know is I got in over 30 miles, over 2hrs. of swimming and 1hr. of weights. I lost 3.8 pounds this week for a total ytd weight loss of -7.2 pounds. I had a very good week. Today I am taking the day off because like Brandon, I have a injury. I am having trouble with my sciatic nerve on the right side. I have trouble with this all the time but today it is affecting my complete right side. I will be better tomorrow. I will give my exact totals tomorrow. Just Run==Walk==DO SOMETHING

Sunday, January 17, 2010

1/1710

I got in a 3.01 mile treadmill run which took 40 minutes and burned 450 calories. Good run. Will post my weekly totals tomorrow. Where are you Brandon? Until next time just run

Saturday, January 16, 2010

1/16/10

Today was a very good day. Billy and the kids are down for a couple of days. First thing this morning Bill and I went with Grandpa to load a trailer full of coal. He has not been feeling well the last few days and appreciated the help. We went swimming at Gunnison Pool and had a really good time. Carolyn made her home made chicken and noodles. I got in a lot of exercise throwing a small football around with the kids. They start acting like kids again when they are out like that. They were really fun to be around. I kept moving all the time in the pool which was 90 minutes and burned around 600 calories. I got in a 3.11 mile run in 45 minutes and burned 497 calories. I ran outside and the weather was 40 degrees. A heat wave for us. I weight 230.2 lbs for a loss of 4.8 lbs. I ate good even with the very large bowl of chicken and noodles. Life is good. Just Run

Friday, January 15, 2010

1/15/10

Well I lubricated the treadmill belt and re calibrated it. At walking speeds it speeds up and down often. Around 5 mph with a 1 percent incline it stays pretty consistent. Treadmill Doctor.com told me to do the above. They said that if it was the motor control board it would run me $200.00. That sucks because I haven't used the treadmill all that much. I might just replace it when we get our taxes back. Thursday run was 6.04 miles in 75 minutes and I burned 1103 calories. I also got in 30+ minutes of weight lifting for a calorie burn of around 300. Fridays run (today's) was 3.01 miles in 40 minutes and I burned 480 calories. I am well on my way to reaching my goal of 30 miles. I weighted 231.2 today for a loss of 3.8 lbs. I need to figure out why I am not losing more weight. My calories haven't been that high. I will work on this. I have conquered exercise, now I will figure out and conquer food. Just Run

Thursday, January 14, 2010

1/14/10

I ran 6.05 miles in 72 minutes and burned 1132 calories. Carolyn and I swam for 65 minutes and burned 457 calories (rough estimate). A good days workout. Finally able to get in a 5 mph average run. Working on 6 mph. The pool is still fun with no impact. Just Run

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

1/13/10

I am still doing a lot of treadmill running. I decided to go down at 4 pm (which is my normal workout time when I work) and see if any treadmills were open. I couldn't believe it, no one was in the aerobic room. For the first 30 minutes I had it to myself. Tuesday I ran 6.05 miles in 75 minutes and burned 1090 calories. Eventually I want to increase my speed to 10 minutes miles during regular training. For now I will be happy to get my average to 30 miles a week. Good run. Weds. morning I weighed 231.2 for a total loss of 3.8 lbs. I might need to change up my diet or go back to doing a food diary. With the amount of exercise I am doing I should be dropping the pounds more quickly. There is a fine line between eating to much and not eating enough. Either one will cause you to stop losing weight. I need to work on this. Is knowledge and consistency the answer?

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

1/12/10

My breathing is a little better. Now to get the weight off. This morning I weighed 230.6 for a total loss of 4.4 lbs. Yesterday I ran 4.31 mile, swam for 1h05m and lifted weights for 30m. Total time was 2h25m and I burned 1424 calories. The swimming at the end of the day really stretches me out which get rid of some of the lactic acid, plus it is fun. I was getting ready to eat a healthy Yoplait fat free blueberry yogurt when I was interrupted by one of my students who said you can't eat that. I said it is all natural and yes I can. We took a look at the ingredients and low and behold the third ingredient was hydrogenated corn syrup. Which means they put a sweetener in this so called healthy food. I guess I will have to get plain yogurt and add my own blueberries. If you sugar bust remember to read labels because corn syrup is more sweet than sugar and causes the same problems. Healthy processed food is hard to find. Stay as close to nature as you can. Remember to read lables and eat right. baby steps.......

Monday, January 11, 2010

Happy Birthday Billy!

Billy I hope you are having a wonderful day. Call you later. It is good to have the first week of 2010 in the bank. I was a hard week for me with the wheezing keeping me up at night so I couldn't sleep. I also was having problems breathng when I ran. I am on my meds. and they seem to be working. The treadmill at work has been pretty busy with new years resolutions and the biggest loser compition going on. I am also having trouble with my home treadmill. I have all kinds of cold weather clothing and decided to put them to use. I will now run outside as much as possible. This week I ran 27.07 miles in 5h55m. We swam for 2 hours. I lifted weights for 35 minutes for a total time of 8h30m and burned 5321 calories. I lost 2.4 pounds this week. I am happy with the week. With my treadmill on the fritz I will have to really watch how I schedule my time. I am lucky to have the job that I have. Week one down, only fifty-one left. Lets all be consistent this year. Remember, "baby steps"

Sunday, January 10, 2010

Gazelle

I want soooo bad to post that I had a wonderful run. I want people driving down the highway to want to take up running because, when they passed me, they saw the look of total joy on my face. To those passersby I want to look like a well oiled machine, running with no effort and with the smoothness and grace of a Gazelle. NOT! Do I run because I love running or do I run for the way running make me feel when I am done. I have not had a delightful, endorphin pumping run in 6 months, a year, two years, I can't remember the last time I had a runners high. Do I continue to run because everyone I know associates me with running. Do I run because running makes me slim. I'm fat. Because it help my breathing. I can hardly breathe. Do I win races. I usually finish next to last.-----------I run because I can. I cannot imagine not running. Yes there is joy in running, because I can run. All the above would be great. I have been there before. Maybe not the Gazelle thing. I still have that memory. I want it again. I will have it again.........Sunday morning I weighed 231 for a total loss of -4 lbs. for 2010. I ran 5.01 miles outside in 22 degree weather, so take that treadmill, in 65 minutes and burned around 800 calories. Fun or not Be Consistent and Just Run

Saturday, January 9, 2010

Treadmills Love/Hate!

As Billy said the weather here is down right cold. Our highs have been around 20. I wanted to run more outside this year but it is to damn cold even for me. So I am inside running on treadmills at home and at work. At work you have all the people with new years resolutions tying up my trealmills and using my time slots. At home the treadmill is giving me fits. The motor speeds up and down. I sure do bitch a lot, sorry about that. I hope it warms up soon. I got in 5.01 miles today in approx. 75 minutes and burned around 800 calories. That was in between working on the treadmill. I weighed 232 lbs today for a lose so far of 3 lbs. He is a comment I wrote on Billy blog. I didn't do anything yesterday. Thursday night I had another sleepless night because of my breathing. We filled all of my meds. so I will get back on them. Along with the meds. I am losing weight, which always helps. We can't beat ourselves up for having no workout days like my Thurs. We need remember we will have those days and move on. Please don't think your 2 mile walk/runs don't mean much to all of us, because we both know how hard they can be. Please exclaim with pride "I did 2 miles"! It is probably demoralizing when you hear me say, after doing 3 miles, that I only got in a 3 miler for the day. It is just a mind set, like when you say I only got in a 300 lb. bench press, damn. You get my point. We are a team and together we can do this. love ya dad Be Consistent

Friday, January 8, 2010

1/8/10

It's 2:03 in the morning and my wheezing woke me up so here I am or should I say here Binkz and I are. Every since I did the 40 miles in 4 days to get my 1000 miles for 09 I have been wheezing again. I probably need to get back on my meds until this goes away. Usually weight loss helps also. This morning I weighed 233.4 which is -1.6 pounds since Monday. We went to see Sherlock Holmes last night and we both ate a med. popcorn which we used as our dinner along with a scoop of Protein powder I had just before bed. Billy you asked what the sugar busters was. The health class I teach at work is trying to stay away from using any additional sugar on anything we eat. That means no candy, cookies, soda, sweetened cereals, sugar in coffee, eating mostly things with no added sugar. We are keeping a journal on how we feel. I am taking it one step futher and cutting out my chips. We started on 1/4 and will end on 2/4. They say we consume way to much sugar in our diets. Mom and I got in our second swim on Wed. night. It was quite enjoyable as we were the only ones in Gunnison pool. We don't know how they keep it open. It is so much fun being able to workout with her. I was able to get in 35 minutes of lite weight lifting Wed. Thursday I ran for 4.44 miles in 55 minutes and burned 821 calories. It will be tough getting in my 30 miles this week. It's fun have you boys post and keeping in touch this way. Just try and get in some sort of exercise each day and watch what you eat. Billy's posting again on Average American. Just Run

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

January 6th.

I didn't get much sleep Monday night. I don't know if the swim we did from 5pm to 6pm or that I ate a large Chile Verde dinner sometime between 6:30 and 7:00 that night. At the most I got in 4 hours. With that said, no workout yesterday. It is funny how difference exercises can make you sore. I was sore from the swim we did Monday evening but in different muscles. So I feel like I really got something out of it. Also in the back of my mine I have been thinking of doing a Sprint Triathlon. This morning I weighed 234.0 lbs, a one pound loss this week. My weight will be posted every time I post just to keep my aware of how I am doing. So far today I got in a 6.01 mile run in 75 minutes and burned 1104 calories. My sugar buster is going well, so far nothing negative. Just Run

Monday, January 4, 2010

Exercise for 1/4/10

I got in a 3 mile run which took me 45 minutes and burned 480 calories. Carolyn and I went swimming for 1 hour and I burned 345 calories during this time. Today's total exercise was 1 hour and 45 minutes and I burned a total of 825 calories. My running goal for the week is 30 miles. My week runs Monday thru Sunday. I will weigh in on Monday morning for my weekly weigh in (for now). It was fun being able to exercise with Carolyn. We are shooting for Monday and Thursdays. No extra sugar today and I am not crazy yet. Just Run

The beginning.

The year is already throwing me a curve ball. Yesterday the drain under the sink decided to break. As usual this happens on Sunday when nothing is open. So I turned my 4 days off into 5 days off to fix the sink. Easy fix if you have the parts.
I always start my News Year resolutions on the first Monday after the 1st. I weighed in at 236.0 today, which I will use as my beginning weight for the year. This means that I lost .4 lbs for 2009 or I stayed pretty much the same. Body fat is 38.5 %. Blood pressure is 130/84 with a pulse of 85 (don't know where this came from because when healthy my pulse is in the low 50's, even when I am not so healthy is it no higher than the low 70's).
In the Sports Nutrition class that I teach at work we are all doing an experiment. As a class we are cutting out sugar from our diet. This means no soda,candy, pastries or adding sugar to any cereals. No highly processed food with extra sugar added. We are doing this for 30 days starting tomorrow. We will keep a diary of how we feel like energy levels and ups and downs. I am taking it one step further and cutting out all chips. We will see.
We have a biggest loser contest starting at work today. I will weigh in tomorrow and have fun with this competition to. Last year the winner won around $700.00. Motivation!
I will post my run totals later. Just Run