Thursday, December 29, 2011

12/29/11

Walked for 2.36 miles yesterday on the treadmill at work.  Starting on the 4th I'm going to try doing some running with my walking and see how I feel.  The treadmill is a pretty forgiving surface and I won't be able to run very fast so, I think I can do it, if I stay slow and listen to my body.

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

12/28/11

I walked on the treadmill for 1.65 miles which took 33 minutes.  On the first I think I will go back to posting my weight again.  It keeps me more aware of where I am.  I also need to find that guy who had the motivation to run 30 marathons, some 50ks and a few 50 miles runs.  I know he is still in here, I just need to let him out again.  Looking forward to getting the bike out as soon as it warms up 

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

12/27/11

One more Christmas down the tube.  I had 3 days off and Carolyn had 4.  For me it was another good one.  More presents than I deserve but I'll take them anyways.  I hope you that read this had a wonderful Christmas also.  I took the week off from exercising and boy am I paying for it today.  I have so many goals that I want to post for this coming year but will have to wait until I see Dr. Call on January the 3rd.  I don't know what exercises I want to do other than swimming.  One goal I will set right now is doing at least 3 workouts a week with Carolyn.  If she feels like more, then, more we will do.  I have noticed how easy it would be to give in and just stop exercising completely.  Having the discipline, motivation and the ability to stay consistent is what I have to concentrate on because I am feeling pretty sorry for myself as of late.  Just gives me that much more to work on in 2012

Monday, December 19, 2011

12/19/11

We spent 3 days in smoggy Salt Lake going to the Nutcracker and visiting.  It is always nice to spent some time with the kids.  Joette, Amanda and Shaylee fixed breakfast for Billy and the kids and us Sunday.  Don't get to see those grandkids and great grandkids that often.  We have one last gift to buy for Dad and we are finished with Christmas.  I am looking forward to staying home this weekend and doing the usual laying around doing nothing.  But, I might take the wheeler for a spin and see how my joints handle riding it.  I hope it's not to bad because we can't afford a side by side with a steering wheel right now.  I walked for a little over 3 miles last week.  This was not enough to keep everything lubricated so I need to do more.  Dr. Call increased the Methotrexate by 5 mg. and I took my first increased dose Saturday.  I can't really tell any difference but it hasn't been that long either.  We will see 

Monday, December 12, 2011

12/12/11

I am finding out that if I don't complain I really don't have that much to write about.  I didn't do any exercises last week.  I need to develop a mindset that walking just might be the exercise that is in my future.  I was going to try my bike but it has been so cold outside that is not possible, at least for me.  I have been on the new meds. for a month and Dr. Call wanted blood tests ran to make sure that there were no side effects.  Happy to say there was not any.  The pain has been tolerable with the exception of my wrist and right hand.  We finished with the decorations both inside and out over the weekend.  Now the fun of setting back and enjoying them.  Grandma had her Christmas party Saturday.  Good food and nice seeing family.  I tried not complaining and I hope I was successful

Monday, December 5, 2011

12/05/11

Weekend is over and back to work.  Still struggling with not having the 3 day weekends.  Need to get over that.  Spent the weekend helping Carolyn decorate the house.  We are not finished but what we have did looks great.  Walked for 10.69 miles last week.

Friday, December 2, 2011

12/02/11

Did a short walk yesterday of 1.31 miles.  I am really glad it is Friday

Thursday, December 1, 2011

12/01/11

One of the treadmills that I have been working on it giving me fits.  I got frustrated yesterday while working on it and decided to do my walk.  I walked for sometime and that wasn't cutting it so went up to 4.5 mph and did some very slow running.  Boy have I lost alot.  I did get in 3.27 miles.  That little bit of running made me feel better about myself.  I don't hurt anymore than I normally do.  I did fall asleep at 0630 pm and woke up at 0500 am.  I haven't slept like that forever  Don't know if it's the run, the meds. or both.  Need to keep up the exercise

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

11/30/11

Walked on the treadmill for 1.82 miles yesterday and burned a few calories.  It is so hard to get into the walking state of mind.  I am gaining weight like crazy.  Up to 237 now, been eating alot of junk at night.  I am almost done with the first month of the Methotrexate and will have to go get more blood tests to check the liver and stuff.  I guess that getting things under control should be the first priority.  After the blood tests have been sent to Dr. Call I am supposed to call him for a telephone consultation instead of having to drive up to Provo.  Carolyn sure has been in the Holiday spirit this year.  She has fixed the house up for every holiday.  I like it when she is in these moods because everything is so cheery.  It has helped me get through this new adventure were having.  I will keep walking and see if I can get some of this weight off, but the problem is both meds. I am on cause weight gain

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

11/29/11

Walked on the treadmill for awhile curling a couple 5lb. weights.  I don't seem to be any worse for the wear.  Slept a little better last night.  Will try and mix things up.  I just seem to be out of sorts lately.  That's all

Monday, November 28, 2011

11/28/11

One workout last week where I walked for 2.63 miles in 50 minutes and burned 220 calories.  I am having a rough time trying to keep my muscle mass.  I look awful.  I will read this week about the meds. I am on and see if I can do some weight lifting.  I can't have another week like this one if I ever want to get my muscle mass built up

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

11/23/11

A better day yesterday.  I don't hurt as bad today.  I like having good days like yesterday.  I am still having trouble getting a full nights sleep.  I was waking up at 3 am but now it is 4 am.  If I can just get to 5am that is the time that I get up anyways.  Walked yesterday for 2.63 miles.  Will try and get in a few more in Murray

Monday, November 21, 2011

11/21/11

I am working on staff treadmills here at work, not my personal treadmill that Bill and Colton put out in the corral under the manger.  I have two of them up and running but the last one is the best built and I bet it weighs 300 or 400 pounds.  This is the one I worked on Friday, changing the deck and belt along with cleaning it up.  Never got it running because it has an electrical problem that is stumping me.  I don't know if the lifting, moving, up and down while working on the machine was what made my hands hurt so bad over the weekend.  The rest of the body hurt but not like my hands did.  I walked last week for 13.05 miles which took 4h19m and I burned around 1300 calories.  Hard to put in that much time for that little distance, I my mind anyways.  I  have lost so much muscle that everything I do is hard so I will have to keep at it a little at a time.  Will keep up the walking this week especially with Thanksgiving on Thursday.  Still trying not to bitch to much but sometimes you just can't help it

Friday, November 18, 2011

11/18/11

I didn't work on the treadmill yesterday.  But I am so sore today in the hands, fingures, shoulders and neck.  Can I really have lost everything this fast?  Sucks.  Yesterday I walked for 2.25 miles in 43 minutes very slowly.  I will get thru this one way or the other because there is no give up in me.

Thursday, November 17, 2011

11/17/11

Yesterday was a productive day but I am paying for it today.  Moving around a 350 lb. treadmill was not a good move on my part.  Here's the problem:  I have did this all my life.  I have always figured out a way to get what needs to be done without having to ask for help or in this case waiting for help to get there.  I have lost so much muscle mass that I don't have the strength I am used to having.  Anyway I was able to get the machine taken apart so I can put the new parts back on.  Just takes more time than I am use to.  I got in another walk of 2.53 miles which took 48 minutes.  I even did a shuffle (jog) for 10 minutes without hurting myself.  I know baby steps and that this is the first week back but you all know how impatient I am.  I am just tired today.  Will take it easy and not try nothing stupid

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

11/16/11

There was no pain with yesterdays walk.  I got a little winded because I haven't been doing much of anything but felling sorry for myself lately.  Another walk on the treadmill for 38 minutes covering 2.34 miles.  It is so hard to not try and get in 3 miles.  That has always been the minimum that I thought I should do as a runner.  Need to change that mindset right now.  I need time on my feet.  I have lost so much muscle that my legs look like skeletons legs to me.  My body fat has climbed way up there with the loss of the muscle.  I am learning when to take the Prednisone (6 am in the morning and 6 pm at night), that is keeping me pretty much pain free.  I now have more questions for the next Doctor visit.  The main question is, we get the pain under control, is this a lifetime treatment or what????

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

11/15/11

Well a few things have happened since my last post.  Had my second appt. with Dr. Call on 11/10/11.  He put a name to what I have, Spondyloarthritis, which is suspose to be a type that attacks the large joints, tendons, ligiments and attachments along with the spine.  Also put me on a Cancer med. that is also used for autoimmune deseases, Methorexate.  You take 6 pill at once/once a week.  He is keeping me on the Prednisone for at least 2 months while the Methorexate builds up in my system.  I still have the ear infection that doesn't want to go away.  I am done with the antibotics but still using the drops that are antibotic.  Exercise!  Call said that the Prednisone creates problems with the Achilles Tendon and other tendons and attachments.  He said I could walk on level ground, no incline at all.  If I felt up to it that I could run slowly, no speedwork, lol.  I can bicycle and swim.  So with that said I started yesterday.  I was on the treadmill for 38.38 minutes and walked for 2.03 miles.  As I was having a pretty much pain free day yesterday the walk went well with one exception.  The tendons on the back of my knee on the left leg that seems to have started this whole thing gave out with a couple sharp pains which took me by surprise.  I was only walking 3 mph, took it to 2.5 mph and it went away.  If I want to exercise I will have to really pay attention to the details.  I don't feel as pain free today but I am not really that bad at this very moment

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

11/08/11

Again I was out of it again yesterday.  Hurting, tired from not getting much sleep, the acheing still wakes me up.  I allso have been having a pee a thon.  Need to cut back on water at night.  Looking forward to seeing the Doctor Thursday to see what he has to say.  I hate writing negitive post because that's not what this blog is about.  Winter is finally here with sleet and cold weather.  One more crazy thing that happeded yesterday at work.  You know I have the sore shoulders, the ear infection and yesterday I got a migraine headache.  Right in the middle of a lecture.  Hopefully today will be a better day

Monday, November 7, 2011

11/07/11

Back to work on a snowy day.  Really not much more than a dusting.  Did the usual fall back this weekend and my body seems messed up.  Took it easy this weekend.  Just don't feel like my old self.  Having a very hard time staying positive.  No walking just did my chores around the house.  I am now taking the Prendizone only 2 times a day for 7 days.  When I was taking the 3 pills I hardly hurt.  Now taking 2 pills I am starting to hurt again (not as bad), but hurting.  I don't want the hot poker type pain back.  Didn't sleep well last 2 nights.  Muscles are sore and I have no strength.  My next Doc appointment is Thursday.  Ear infection is still there, right now is hurts like heck when I chew anything.  I will try and get in  more walking this week.  Only have 3 days to work this week.  I still not eating right.  I guess comfort food is relieving the pain somewhat

Saturday, November 5, 2011

11/05/11

Was able to get one of the treadmills fixed and moved back down front.  Naturally I had to check it out once it was set up.  I walked on it for 1.01 miles which took a long time of 25 minutes.  The treadmill held up for the walk test as did the rest of my body.  Experienced some discomfort in my body, but that is to be expected.  Starting my second week of the Prednisone (2 a day for 7 days) and we will see if the pain is more or less.  I will try and get a walk in today.  It will have to be outside as the treadmill is not working and has been moved under the shed in the coral.  Ear infections is still giving me fits but will stay on the meds. for that and see what happens.  As I said with the walking and actually having to work at work my knee is back to hurting but not like it did before he drained off the fluid and gave me the cortizone shot.  I have a few chores to do this weekend but will mostly take it easy and try and get over this.  Until next time

Friday, November 4, 2011

11/4/11

As I said yesterday they didn't get enough blood from me when I was at the hospitl.  I made an appointment at Armstrongs office to get the blood drawn.  While I had them on the phone I asked it I could make an appointment for my right ear.  I feel like I have an infection in it and it is hard to hear.  So they took the extra blood and looked at the ear.  Said that I have an infection, gave m antibotics, both internal and inside the ear type.  I moved three treadmill from the front of the building to the back secure area with the help of inmates.  It was more walking than normal and my knee hurt last night.  Kept me awake somewhat.  It wasn't working out but I feel like I did 2 miles of walking.  I need to be patient and do what I can do

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

11/2/11

Friday October the 28th I had my first visit with the Rheumatoligist in Provo.  He started by reading the test results from Dr. Armstrong and tests and ex-rays he had ordered.  He said that they didn't tell him much but that now he had a guideline for future reference.  Put me on the table and did manipulations of the joints I am having pain in.  Looking at my left knee he was surprised that I didn't think it was swollen, because he said it was.  I was surprised how much fluid he got out of the knee.  While in there he gave me a cortizone shot in the knee.  I don't believe in cortizone shots but he pretty much insisted, and it did help.  He sent the fluid to the lab for tests.  Also put me on a longer round of Prednisone, (3 pills for 7 days, 2 for 7 days and 1 for 7 days).  He took me off the IB's and the LorTabs.  The results of everything so far is that I can walk without limping, (knee still hurts more that normal).  I can at least sleep and I don't wake up in pain everytime I turnover in bed.  Sitting for any length of time is a problem, but that makes me get up and walk more.  Dr. said that is would be good for me to walk but no high impact anything.  I have lost weight but it has been muscle.  He ordered more test that I will get today at Sanpete County Hospital after work today.  I go back to see him again on Nov. the 10th.  Once I get my mind wrapped around this new dilemma I will start a walking routine.  Carolyn and I will start going to Gunnison Pool and do the water aerobics.  I will repeat myself again, don't take your health for granted.  Enjoy it while you can

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

I will be better than I was

Lately I have had alot of time to think about working out.  About doing the things that I love.  Running, cycling, aerobics and lifting.  I have thought about walking, hiking and trail running.  Even riding the wheeler.  Going for long rides.  Sitting or laying on the couch watching TV.  Getting up out of a chair.  Turning over in bed.  Having a conversation that doesn't have the topic of my health.  If you have a love for something, lets say running.  Cherish every run.  Enjoy the miracle of the way your body move when you want it to.  Don't sit around saying, I have to run today.  Say I get to run today, isn't that wonderful.  For what I have put my body through over the years it's simply a miracle it has done what I have asked of it.  There was a time right after I quit drinking and smoking that I was in wonder of what my body could do after all the abuse.  Over the years I have taken it for granted and abused it with eating the wrong kinds of foods.  Now I need my body back because I am not ready to give up now.  I will find out what is wrong.  Fix what is wrong.  Start eating right.  My Doctor appointment Friday is the new beginning of me.  I will come out of this better than I was

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Back and a little better

I went to the Doctor last Thursday and he did take me seriously.  Didn't know what was wrong but he understood that I was really hurting.  Along with 20 questions he took 5 viles of blood.  Three of the test came back negitive (white blood cell count for infection, liver problems and one other).  I guess 2 of the test were for inflamation which came back very high.  I guess this showed the inflamation in my joints?  Monday he put me on a round of predisone.  Along with the IB's I am getting some relief.  At least I can sleep thru the night (with the aide of sleeping pills).  So I am at least getting some rest.  Still don't know what caused this.  I still have enough pain that I don't feel like working out.  Of course that would be rather stupid.  I think the pain has caused my blood pressure to go up to the point (170/100) he put me on blood pressure meds.  I have always controled my blood pressure with exercise.  Since that is out I will take the meds. until I can get back to exercising.  Even though the pain is more managable the problem is still there.  Over the years I have had many injuries, this is so strange, I can't ever find the answer on the internet.  I will keep you posted on the saga of the swelling joints

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

10/05/11 Daily diary continues

Yesterday did nothing but type and run the mouse.  Not much sleep last night because I couldn't stop my right shoulder from hurting.   I didn't take any IB's or wallyworld pain meds this morning so I could tell just how bad I felt.  I could hardly walk or lift my right arm.  Everyone who sees me at work wants to know what is the matter.  They all say to get to the Dr. now.  So along with Carolyn and our Office Manager on my case I decided to give Armstrong one more go.  If he plays around with this I will find another Dr.  What is going on  I don't know.  I have an eating problem not a workout problem.  I know my body well and what's going on is not normal at all, not caused by the exercises?????.  When you have injuries for almost 8 weeks and they are moving around to different areas, this is too wierd for words.  So we will see after my appt. tomorrow at 0915 hours

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Weekly diary for me 10/04/11

10/03/11 Did nothing.  The pain is isolated in places where I have injured myself over the years.   Lately the back of the knee still hurts even with the front starting to hurt.  The groin hurts when I life my right leg.  I know that I have a on going problem with my right shoulder, but nothing like the way it is hurting now.  It keeps me up at night.  Now the left shoulder is hurting.  The lower back hurts..I have sciatic problems on  my right side and that hurts.  We did go for a wheeler ride last weekend which aggravated the shoulders.  The only other thing I did was vacuued the house last weekend.  Nothing yesterday except type and run the mouse.  I even went to bed at 630 last night and didn't want to get up this morning.  I will keep this diary all week to refresh my memory

Monday, October 3, 2011

10/03/11

I had a rough weekend of doing nothing.  I tried pain pills and it didn't take long for me to remember why I hate them so bad.  IB's and "Wallyworld generic excedrines do the same thing without making me loopy.  I have a hard time seeing why people get hooked to them.  Last week I did five workouts for a total burn of 2914 calories.  Even doing these extra lite, they were to much.  I am taking another week off and if I am not seeing improvement be next Monday I will see the Doctor

Friday, September 30, 2011

09/30/11

I was so sore yesterday that I had a hard time walking.  I will work thru this.  I did 30 minutes of YRG and burned not much more than 150 calories because I wasn't able to do the floor work.  I have the weekend coming up and will take at least one day off

Thursday, September 29, 2011

09/29/11

Yesterday did Insanity for 40 minutes and burned around a 1000 calories.  I am paying for it today, but todays exercise will be tomorrows post.  Three workouts in so far, I will do at least 5 this week.  I need something that is not high impact so it will be cycling or walking.  I can't remember hurting this bad.  I will work thru this and be stronger for it

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

09/28/11

I did YRG yesterday for one hour.  That included a 15 minute ab session, for the total workout I burned 639 calories.  The groin is loosing up and is only painful when I put on my shoes and socks in the mornings.  The back of my left leg (upper calf and lower hams with the two tendons), still giving me fits.  My right shoulder that I have injured many times over the years hurts so bad that I can't do pushups during my workouts.  I hate taking IB's and generic (wallyworld) pain meds but that is the only relief I get.  I decide yesterday to checkout my workout log and see how many day I actually worked out the last three month.  It sure was a shocker for mr. consistency!  July worked out 12 days, August 11 days and September just 7 days so far.  I might need to change my blogs name.   Looking at that, no wonder I got hurt that day I ran so hard.  In three months I had ran only 8 days.  I am making this promise to myself, I will be more consistent in Oct

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

09/27/11

I didn't get any workouts in other than a wheeler ride to see the leafs on the west mountain.   They were great.  Last week I did two YRG's for a total of one hour.  Did one Insanity for one hour.  Together these burned a little over 2000 calories.  I am still so sore in the mornigs that I can hardly move.  The Insanity is super high impact high intensity cardio, so that is also keeping me sore.  The Yoga For Real Guys should be good for me with all the stretching.  I can't keep up with these workout the way I did last month but I can do enough to keep me from going crazier than I am.  I need to get out and do some walking or hit the bike for a ride.  You have to do exercises, if for nothing else but to keep you sane

Saturday, September 24, 2011

09/24/11

On Thursday I did the YRG again for 30 minutes and burned around 300 calories.  Yesterday just rested.  I started taking in about 12 grams of protein 3 or 4 times a day to see if that aids my recovery.  Still having problems with my legs and now my shoulders hurt like hell.  I will work thru this if it kills me.  Age and slow recovery sucks big time

Thursday, September 22, 2011

09/22/11

I did  one hour of Insanity yesterday and burned over a thousand calories.  I would have burned more but I had to take it easy on my legs.  I was still soaking wet with sweat when I got done.  I am still taking it easy.  Will try and get a walk in tomorrow.  See how that goes.  I did do 15 minutes of stretching after the workout and that is good for me.  I am not a stretcher but I can change that

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

09/21/11

I need to get back to writing every day because it helps keep me motivated.  I have been down in the dumps the last while with the leg issue.  I talked to Dr. Burnham about blood clots and he ruled that out.  His exact words were, "the stress you placed on your legs during your 10,9,8,7 minute miles with no warm-up tore you up and with your advance age it will take as long as it takes to heal".  He might not have said advanced age but he implied it.  I am finding out the hard way that I can't get away with doing the same type of workout as often and as hard as I used to.  My mind says yes but the body is telling me no.  I will try and scale back, which I hope will let me be more consistent.  Monday I started back up my YRG class and worked out with them.  The workout was 30 minutes which burned close to 300 calories.  For those that don't remember this workout.  Yoga for Real Guys is Diamond Dallas Pages Yoga workout while keeping your muscles engaged (flexed).  I had a hard time staying engaged with the leg pain, so I went to the pain then backed off a little, which got me through the workout.  Took yesterday off working out.  Will try Insanity today and see how that goes.  If you guys are doing any workouts lets post them.  I am still having a hard time with getting into the Facebook thing

Friday, September 16, 2011

09/16/11

Two days of exercise in a row, can you believe that!  I was able to get thru the Insanity on Wednesday so I decided to walk/run yesterday and see how my legs were.  I did 3.23 miles and burned 456 calories.  It took almost an hour so I did not set any time records.  The legs still hurt but at least I am doing something

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Back from vacation

Got back from vacation monday.  We had a wonderful time in the canyons around Blanding Utah.  Looked at ruins, rock art.  Road the wheelers and did a few road trips.  I did some hiking to different ruins.  My legs were still hurting from whatever it is that is bothering me.  Every step I took during the hike was painfull.  I dicided to give Insanity a try today and it wasn't that bad.  I hope it loosened it up so I can get back at it.  I went for 40 minutes and burned 595 calories.  The bad part is we had Dad in Payson Hospital with the same dizziness and throwing up that he had 2 years ago.  Again they couldn't find out the cause.  He is home and doing fine.  But how knows when it will happen again. 

Thursday, September 1, 2011

09/01/11

I walked again for 1.55 miles on the treadmill.  Tried to run a bit but that didn't work to well.  I still hurt but I will keep trying

Wednesday, August 31, 2011

I still want to run marathons

I still have the groin pull that was self inflicted on 8/11.  It seems the more I lay around the more I hurt.  My whole body hurts and I haven't did much of anything.  I had to start moving, even if it is causing me discomfort.  I don't think it will hurt anymore from walking on the treadmill than it does laying around.  I did a very slow walk yesterday for 25 minutes and went 1.10 miles.  It was uncomfortable during the whole walk.  I hurt today more than yesterday but my mental attitude is so much better.  So I will walk again today for a mile or so.  I will get this figured out soon.  I still want to run marathons        Just Run

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Groin Pull

I guest I should share the complete story why I have not been working out.  On my last run on the 11th I was limited for time.  I started out at 10 minute miles with no warm up like I usually do.  Normally I warm up for 10 to 15 minutes with walks and runs.  I was very uncomfortable with the pace so I picked it up to 9 minute miles.  I needed a 3 mile run that day so when Carolyn stuck her head in to say lets go, with a quarter mile left, I kicked it up to 7 minute miles which was a mistake.  The bottom line is I have a groin pull that has shut me down for the last 2 weeks.  My fault and I didn't want to talk about it to anyone because it was so stupid on my part.  Close to 20 years of running and still making mistakes like this.  Now we know why I have been whinning about everything but what was bothering me.  The problem is they take forever to heal.  So now getting that off my chest, let the healing begin

Monday, August 22, 2011

8/22/11

I just got off one of those weeks where you don't pretty much give a crap about anything.  Carolyn wants me to go to the San Rafael this coming weekend and see if I can get this out of my system.  No exercise at all last week.  Ate everything in sight.  I don't seem to be able to stay motivated longer than two weeks at a time.  I have developed a pattern with my workouts and this blog.  The blog name is Staying Consistent, which means putting together more than two workout in a row.  It means consistently eating better.  I don't know if I am doing to much because I am not in the shape I used to be.  All we can do is keep trying, when we mess up, start again. 

Monday, August 15, 2011

0815/11

Just got home from Price.  It's always an emotional drain when you have a funeral.  Bob will be missed, he was a very good man.  It is always nice to see the folks you haven't seen in awhile.  Ekco and Roma look frail and there health is a worry.  I am glad we took the time to go because who knows?  I had in the back of my mind to get my run in when we came home.  With the emotional drain and the drive, I will pass for today.  Start my week tomorrow and take what I can get

Sunday, August 14, 2011

08/14/11

Thursday I was so dead tired but went to the aerobic room for a 3 miler on the treadmill.  I didn't want to run so I ran as fast as my legs would  let me to get it over with.  Had an enjoyable time in Vernal.  Along with the enjoyable time came problems with the trucks drivetrain.  Will take it to the garage Monday.  We also have Uncle Bob's funeral tomorrow.   Will get back to exercising and dieting Tuesday

Thursday, August 11, 2011

08/11/11

Slept better last night.  I had a killer Insanity workout of 55 minutes then went down 45 minutes later and ran my scheduled 3 mile run.  I had a hard time doing the 3 miles because my legs were dead.  I burned a total of 1422 calories..  If nothing else happens with everything I am doing, I feel better about myself and this is good.  If you want to feel better about yourself all you have to do is, do what you know you need to do.  Do them over and over and over until they become a habit

Wednesday, August 10, 2011

08/10/11

Two days of Atkins down.  It helps having everything cooked up and bagged into portions.  All I have to do is reach into the fridge and grab the bags.  Not having the things for a bike ride yesterday, I did a longer run than the scheduled 3 miles on Hal Higdon's marathon schedule.  I ran on the treadmill for 1h06m for 5.10 miles and burned 911 calories.  I usually fall right to sleep, but the last two days I have laid there longer than normal.  My heartrate was 60 monday, 61 tuesday and 60 today.  It is elevated a bit because my normal waking heartrate is in the 51 to 55 range.  This should go back down as the weight comes off.  Maybe a little more when and if my body gets used to eating this way.

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

08/09/11

One day of Atkins down.  Carolyn cooked me up a bunch of meat, boiled eggs and along with a little bit of cheese I got thru the day and night.  As usual from 5:30 to bedtime was the hardest for me.  I'll take it one day at a time for now.  I am still sore from Sundays run and the one hour of Insanity yesterday which burned 979 calories.  I am looking forward to the day that I am not sore like this anymore.  I know that I push myself way to hard but I can't not push.  I am not going to start posting my weight until I get back to 218.  That was my weight on 1/1/11.  I am now in the high 220's

Monday, August 8, 2011

Happy Birthday Carolyn

Happy birthday to my wonderful wife.  I hope you have a great birthday.  You deserve al the happiness in the world and I love you lots.  Last weeks totals are:  Ran 5.13 miles.  Cycled 32.21 miles.  Insanity for 1h40m.  My total exercise time was 5h20m and I burned 4849 calories.  I am happy with the weeks workout.  As I posted yesterday I am starting Hal Higdon's Novice 1 Marathon Program today and it starts with a rest day.  That's not to bad because I am sore from yesterdays run and the knee is hurting.  I will wear my brace, when I run, until it stops hurting.  I have put the Triathlons on hold until next year.  I need to get the swimming in open water down to where I am comfortable with it.  Starting the Atkins diet today, so we will see how long I can keep it going.  Tired of the big belly

Sunday, August 7, 2011

08/07/11

Yesterday was one of those really bad, tired, lack of focus, sore, hurting, you get the point, days.  I don't know what happened other than the combination of the weeks workouts and the waterpark.  I laid down at 4:30 because I couldn't keep my eyes open and woke up at 7:00pm.  Pissed off Carolyn because Brit and family were down and she made Carolyn a birthday dinner that I missed.  So I had the rath of Carolyn the last two days.  I was going for a long bike ride and when I went to get my riding shoes, helmet and other thing I realized that they were in the trunk of the Jetta which is in the garage again.  So wanting to get in a workout and having it in the back of my mind that I want to start running again I went for a 5 miler out on riverlane which burned 975 calories.  I sure could tell that I haven't been running consistently for a long time.  I am starting Hal Higdon's Beginner Marathon Training Program this Monday.  Why?  Because I can

Saturday, August 6, 2011

08/06/11

Thursdays ride was the same as Wednesdays.  10.61 miles and burned 762 calories.  Friday we went to the Prison Employee's Asso. water park outing.  Bill and the kids went with also.  This is what Carolyn wanted from them for her birthday present.  We had a good time.  Carolyn, as usual, won the the grand prize of $100.00 which was extra nice.  I was sore from the weeks workouts but extra sore today from riding the big tubes, anyways we are both major sore.  Brandon you are doing great getting in your first week.  Which one of Hal's programs are you using?  It's Saturday and I will try and get a workout today and tomorrow

Thursday, August 4, 2011

08/4/11

I don't know what is the problem with posting comments.  If anyone knows what I need to do please let me know.  Yesterday I road for 10.80 miles and did Insanity in the afternoon for one hour which burned 1773 calories.  Both were very hard workouts, with the ride being in the wind and one hour of the hardest Insanity workout there is.  Will try and get something in this weekend

Wednesday, August 3, 2011

08/03/11

Got in another good bike ride yesterday of 10.61 miles and burned 794 calories.  I am going to do these same workouts for a couple more weeks and see if they get any easier.  I know this is a lot of leg workouts and by the time I finish Thursdays workout my legs are dead.   My weekly workouts ,I want to become routine, before I move on or increase the exercises.  Being consistent is more important than doing more

Tuesday, August 2, 2011

08/02/11

Did 40 minutes of Insanity which burned 595 calories.  Insanity is a good workout with all the jumping, squating and floor exercises.

Monday, August 1, 2011

08/01/11

It's hard to believe that it is August 1st today.  Months and year are flying by.  Again, each individual work day seems long.  July was a ok workout month but nothing great.  Cycled 107.71 miles.  Ran 5.12 miles.  Did Insanity for 3 hours.  Total workout time was 13 hours and 14 minutes.  It burned 10,909 calories.  Like I said,  nothing great but ok.

Saturday, July 30, 2011

07/29/11

Thursday went for a little longer ride than normal.  I road for 16.01 miles and burned962 calories.  Felt good during the ride

Thursday, July 28, 2011

07/28/11

Yesterday cycled for 10.82 miles in 0h53 minutes.  Also got in a Insanity workout for 0h45m.  That makes over one and a half of exercise which burned 1209 calories.  Everything is going good with the workouts.  Right now I am ok with 4 to 5 workout days a week.

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

07/27/11

I decided to get in a run yesterday and see how it felt and it felt pretty good.  I did one minute at 3.5 then one at a higher speed, (intervals).  Warmed up for 10 minutes and the total on the workout was 56 minutes and burned 501 calories doing it this way.  Ate better, no junk

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Last weeks totals

Bicycled 43.98 miles and did Insanity for two 45 minutes session totaling 1h30m.  Burned 4349 calories that otherwise I wouldn't have.  Total workout time was 4h54m.  The week was ok for not feeling that chipper.  I am having way to many health proplems for all the exercise that I do, just plain feeling like crap, if you no what I mean.  Carolyn wants me to adjust my diet instead of just talking about it.  So today I will start with taking little things out and putting healthier things in my diet. 

Saturday, July 23, 2011

My goal was 4 in a row and I got it

Thursday road for 12.34 miles which took 1 hour and burned 971 calories.  Funny thing is I fixed the Garmin tracking system, but now the heart rate monitor is not working right.  I might have wasted $300.00 on this unit

Thursday, July 21, 2011

3 in a row

Yesterday did the 10.59 miles bicycle loop in the morning and 45+ minutes of Insanity in the afternoon which burned 1348 calories.  Nice to have my Garmin working again.  The funny thing about fixing the Garmin is Garmin didn't come up with the fix, I did.  I took a shot at erasing all the workouts on the watch.  When I did the unit started working again.  I emailed back and forth to Garmin for a solid month with no results.  The last resort would have been, to be home and let a Garmin IT guy take over my computer and see if he could solve the problem.  Anyways I came up with the fix on my own

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

2 in a row

I road my loop again yesterday.  10.59 miles and burned 682 calories.  So, 2 work days and 2 workouts.  I need consistency

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Good workout

I did a double yesterday with cycling in the morning and Insanity in the afternoon.  Cycling for 10.59 miles and did Insanity for 45 minutes which burned 1348 calories.  Probably the calorie count is to high but I'll take it anyway.  I have gained weight again so I need to be more consistent.  My goal right now is to get in at least 4 workouts a week while I am at work

Monday, July 18, 2011

Need to improve

Not much in the way of workouts last week.  Only the one that I blogged about.  Like I said in other posts, I let to many things into my mind that get in the way.  Will work on that

Thursday, July 14, 2011

07/14/11 Insanity

Got in my first Insanity workout in awhile and as usual it kicked my butt.  After the workout I went and walked on the treadmill to loosen me up.  Both workouts burned around 655 calories.  Will see what today brings.

Tuesday, July 12, 2011

07/12/11 Messing with your mind

No exercise yesterday.  Here's how things can get in the way of your workout.  We have been planning this camping trip up Manti Canyon for a couple of weeks.  We drove up to Manti Community Campground to see which spot was best.  Picked out a spot then went home so we could reserve it for the weekend.  All the camp spot in the campground were full for the next two weeks.  That started off the mind games that go on in your head.  Carolyn went to turn on the oven to bake some chicken and the ignitor would not work.  Another thing in our head to deal with.  She told me she was having problems with the microwave also.  Something else in our heads to deal with.  I then went out to put water in the trailer and get it ready for wherever we decided to go camping.  I closed all the valves and started to pressurize the tank.  I could still hear running water and it was coming from under the kitchen cabinets.  I couldn't see exactly where it was coming from because the converter was right in the way.  This was the worse place possible to get to in the whole trailer.  Another thing in our head.  Carolyn has been sick with a stomach bug for almost a week.  Another thing in our heads.  They are changing many things up at work that is messing with our work lifes.  We are losing our 10 hour shifts and will have to go back to five--eights.  Messing with our heads.  We never had to take a lunch half hour because most of the time we never left property.  Now we have to take  a manitory half hour.  Messing with our heads.  Now they are saying we need to take our half hour workout time in conjunction with the manitory half hour lunch in the middle of the day.  I have for the past 10 years took my workout at the end of the shift.. Well you see how these things add up to the point to where I say to hell with everything for awhile.  Looking back to last week of riding the bike and all hiped up, then looking at how I felt Sunday and Monday, sure is a change.  Each one of these things we can handle but together they really mess with your mind 

Monday, July 11, 2011

07/11/11 Week totals

Last week I rode the bicycle for 36.93 miles in 3 hours and 38 minutes and burned 3230 calories.  I would like to get my dead butt out of bed and ride to work in the morning.  That would give my a good calorie burn that would burn for most of the day.  We will see

Saturday, July 9, 2011

07/09/11 Wrong setting on the Garmin

I figured out why the old Garmin read that I burned 1479 calories at 14 mph which I did in 45 minutes.  I had it set for running that distance instead of cycling.  It should have read 10 miles in 45 minutes which burned 787 calories which is much better.  Yesterday I road from home to Palisade which is 15.13 miles in 1h23m which burned 869 calories.  The climb up to the Park always kicks my butt.  I say that I will ride this a couple times a week until it gets easy, but I don't.  I am going back and changing the calories on the other posts.  Today I took the last of the amoxicillin and the sinus infection is still going strong.  Dr. Armstrong doesn't like giving me the antibotics and this might be the reason.  He just might know what he doing after all.  I have taken them for so long they don't work on me.  With that said,  Exercise!  Just do something even if you have a sinus problem

Friday, July 8, 2011

07/08/11

Same ride as the last two days.  10.56 miles in 45 minutes and burned 787 calories.  The miles and the calories burned are adding up fast.  Road three days in a row.  I am enjoying riding the bike 

Thursday, July 7, 2011

07/07/11

I got in another ride yesterday.  I road the same course so everything is the same.  10.56 miles in 45 minutes and burned 787 calories.  I will stay riding this course for awhile.  I know I can do it in 45 minutes and that is the time I have.  Doing 4 days in a row is something I need to get use to..  Then I will add something else in

Wednesday, July 6, 2011

07/06/11

Bicycled for 10.46 miles which took 45 minutes and the old Garmin 101 said I burned 1479 calories.  I road faster than normal and I weigh 234 but I still think that is to many calories burned.  To get the workout in I have been going down and changing into my riding clothes around 10:45.  I try and be riding by 11:00 because I have to be back by 12:00.  This will work out every day but Monday because of staff meeting.  Once my body gets used to this I will add in another 45 minutes of something.  By the way, the reason I am not using my new Garmin 210 is that it is locked up and won't connect to the internet.  Sucks

Tuesday, July 5, 2011

June totals

Because of the Cycling I actually got in a good month.  I ran/walked for 16.56 miles.  I cycled for 241.90 miles, what a month of cycling.  My total exercise time was 23 hours and 20 minutes which burned 15,826 calories.  I have said this before, cycling might be the answer.  I ended up with a good month even with the sinus infection and not getting in that many days of actually working out.  What could I have did if I would not have had that infection????   I need to get off the Doritoes and back on my feet

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Great ride: Logan MS Ride

Was able to get in 4 workout this week.  Three short runs totaling 9.95 miles.  The Harman's Best Dam Ride for MS in Logan was a great experience for me.  An event with 3000 bicyclists scared the heck out of me but turned out great.  The course was on two lane county roads winding thru Cashe Valley up into Idaho.  Road with Linda McArthur and her son Bill.  Before we started I thought we were only doing the 40 but Bill had talked Linda into doing 75 which was great.  I ended up with saddle sores, which was my own fault.  Road in new cycling bib shorts that I bought the night before.  I alway preach to newbys that you use the equipment the you train in for the event and not change up the last minute.  In my experience it always backfires on you and it sure did on me.  My total mileage was 77.49 which was my longest ride ever.  Last week I got in 8 hours and 40 minutes of exercise which burned 5568 calories.  I will be riding the MS ride next year without question.  Sunday we went to Lava Hot Springs for a soak and massage.  Once in awhile you run into a massageuse who has a special gift of finding all the right mucles, knots and sore areas on the body that need work.  I found one in Lava and she worked one my back alone for 45 minutes.  The massage was harder on me than the 75 miles of ride but my body sure needed the massage.  When she was done I soaked in the hot springs for an hour and could have went to the motel room and crashed.  The weekend was wonderful and I am looking forward to next year

Thursday, June 23, 2011

Workout

Did 3.35 miles which burned over 350 calories.  Another one down

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Walkin/Runnin

I got in 4.25 miles and burned over 400 calories yesterday on the treadmill.  I have a new workout that I will start on Tuesday of next week that I hope will get me going.  It will be an overload but I will do it for as long as I can

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Longest day of the year

I did a walk on the treadmill yesterday to get the sorenesss out of my legs.  Did 2.35 miles and burned 253 calories.  Something is better than nothing.  I ate better yesterday and didn't snack at night.  I hope I can get over snacking at night.  I have the habit of doing that from the time I get home until I go to bed.  Carolyn is always telling me,"why do you put all the effort into working out the way you do, then eat non-stop until you go to bed".  The allergies have kicked my butt again this year.  The doctor told me that the only thing left for me to do for the allergies and the asthma is to loose weight.  So we will see once again how it goes. 

Monday, June 20, 2011

Weekly totals

I got in 66.37 miles of cycling which took 5h49m and burned 3452 calories.  Again this is all that I did this week.  I will run again when the pollen settles down.  I am hoping I can get at least 75 miles on Saturday for the Logan MS ride.  They also have a 45 or 75 mile ride on Sunday so we will see what happens

Saturday, June 18, 2011

Fremont Indian road in Clear Creek Canyon

I got the Consealed Weapons Permit class under my belt, just need to send in the paperwork.  After the class I went to the trail head on hwy 89 and I-70.  The Fremont Indain road is a steady climb almost to the top for Clear Creek.  I made it up over 11 miles before I said enough.  I turned around and OH what a ride back down.  I hit 37.5 miles an hour and boy did it feel good.  I see why cycling is addicting because coming down that windy canyon road with hardly any traffic was wonderful.  I will be doing this ride many times in my future.  Goal is all the way to the top.  I road a total of 22.77 miles in  2h02 minutes and burned 1508 calories.  After the 43 yesterday my legs were somewhat dead and my butt was sore as all get out.  I needed the two rides back to back to get me ready for at least 75 at Logan next week.  A hundred might be out of the question.  I am enjoying cycling way to much

Friday, June 17, 2011

Just Ride

I might have to change my mantra from Just Run to Just Ride because that seems to be the ticket for now.  Did  a ride with Rowdy from Pigeon Hallow Junction on 89 to Spring City to Mt. Pleasant, then took back roads to Fairview.  The ride took 3h41m and burned 1944 calories for a 43.60 mile ride.  I think the Garmin is cheating me out of a bunch of calories.  It was a nice day to ride with the overcast sky and not much wind.  I have the Weapons class in Richfield tomorrow.  When I am done if it is not raining (like it is susposed to) I will ride there after.  I have tomorrow and Sunday to get in some mileage that will get me ready for the Logan ride.  I am shooting for at least 75 miles.  The bicycle was a good investment.  I told myself that I have to ride it to work at least to days next week.  We will see

Monday, June 13, 2011

Just Workout

Rowdy called to see if I wanted to ride with him and Blood when he got off work at 1840 hours.  I hesitated but said yes and I am glad that I did.  I didn't ride there full distance but I was able to get in 14.74 miles which burned 945 calories.  My week totals are all cycling with 55.88 miles in 4h55m which burned 3253 calories.  For now I will cycle until the polen settles down.  I can get my heart rate up and keep it there which burns a whole bunch of calories.  The next day if I want I can do it all over again as long as I get some decent sleep.  I have a ride in Logan on the 25th where I can do 40, 70 or 100 miles depending on how I feel.  The next day they do a hill ride of 40 or 60 miles.  This should be a do for me on the bike compared to a marathon.  We are going to Lava on Sunday night so I can soak in the hot pools.  Lava is only 50, 60 miles or so from Logan.  Lets keep the commitment we made to oursleves and JUST WORKOUT

Saturday, June 11, 2011

06/11/11

I got thru 2 days of being 62 and my world didn't come crashing down, sooooo.  Yesterday I worked in the yard for part of the day which plugged me up a little bit more but what the heck.  Today I went to Richfield for a Consealed weapons class and it was cancelled until next week.  I had my bicycle with me so I could ride the Sevier riding/running path.  I had a very slow but good ride.  I put in 41.14 miles in 4h14m which burned 2308 calories.  As I have said before I can ride the bike when I am having these problems.  When I have to walk walk/run somewhat which stresses the heck out of my system.  I did a lot  of very slow riding so I could look at the scenery, which was wonderful.  The Sevier River was awsome with the super high water this year.  I will most  likely stay with the bike for now.  At least until my breathing shapes up.  So again I turned lemons into lemonade and had a wonderful ride

Thursday, June 9, 2011

Social Security

Can you believe that as of today June the 9th I can collect Social Security Benefits.  62 years old, that sounds crazy to me.  I have one year left at the joint before I get my 20 in.  As it stands today I will stay working until 66, but it is nice to know that in one year I don't have to.  I am looking for something new to keep me motivated!  As you know I was motivated by the Sprint Tri which I wasn't able to do.  I was again motivated for the Utah Valley Marathon which is this weekend.  Again I can't do this because I can't get air into my lungs, just trying to figure things out.  Breathing has been so bad that I haven't did anything since Sunday.  Will see what the weekend brings.  Not whinning, just sad

Monday, June 6, 2011

Week totals

Not much in the way of total, but a good week anyways.  I walk/ran for 10.80 miles.  Bicycled for 39.16 miles.  I am counting a massage that I got on Sunday as a workout since it kicked my butt like nothing else.  My workout time was 5h19 minutes which burned 3553 calories.  I kept my commitment of only taking off one day.  Wind is blowing like crazy today so no bike riding.  Taking Carolyn to Armstrongs office so he can finish removing the melanoma, (tests show they are cancerous), this afternoon.  I hate to have her go thru this since she is still recovering from a total knee replacement.  Both cancers have been on the left arm and hand.  Most likely no exercise tonight

Sunday, June 5, 2011

More ramblings of a first class whinner

Friday I needed a bicycle ride.  We went to Richfield to shop and get pizza at Pizza Hut.  Took the bike and had Carolyn drop me off at Gunnison Park.  I road the Farmers Freeway to Christensen Road to Broken Arrow took a right at the river and headed on the road by the feed lot to Mayfield Road back to 89 to Sterling to Jensen Land to Home.  Did 28.71 miles in 2h37m which burned over 1549 calories.  Wind most of the way and I only wanted to call Carolyn three time to come and pick me up, but I didn't.  Allergies still bad but I am still doing it

Friday, June 3, 2011

06/03/11 Ramblings of a whinner

I made a commitment to myself on May 31st that in the month of June I would exercise my butt off, literally.  So far I am doing great.  I still can't breathe well enough to run much but I can walk/run, which works.  Yesterday was a long one, with 6.61 miles which burned 1006 treadmill calories.  With my breathing I have to work so much harder but I am getting it done.  The only one I know for sure that reads my blog on a stready basis is Carolyn but I use it so I can go back and check my progress and my attitude.  My commitment to myself was to exercise (do something) at least 6 days every week this month.  I have been letting my limitations get in the way to much.  I have always worked around those limitations all my life.  When I start to give in and believe that I can't do this anymore I start questioning things.  I question why I keep putting my body thru all this exercise, especially when I look in the mirror, and I am discussed with the way I look.  I just get down in the dumps when I have these allergies like this.  Today the Jetta was covered with a layer of yellow pollen so I know it is not my imagination.  I'll get over this and be that much better off because I still worked out during a bad spell instead of just laying around and feeling sorry for myself

Thursday, June 2, 2011

Old New Picture

The photo I put on is Ivie and I at Ogden Marathon a couple years ago.  I put this on as a reminder to myself of how bad I look.  At least Ivie looks like a runner with a slimmer body.  I struggled thru this marathon and the ones since.  It's a good reminder of why my marathons hurt me so much now days.  So you will see this picture until there is enough improvement to post a better looking one.  Yesterday cycled for 10.45 miles in 54 minutes and burned 342 calories.  This might not seem like much but, I was outside in the wind while the inmate workcrew mowed lawns most of the day.  By the end of the day the allergies were so out of control I wanted to just go home and go to sleep.  So getting in any exercise was a chore on my part and I am patting myself on the back for having the will to just do something

Wednesday, June 1, 2011

May totals

Yesterday did 4.19 miles and burned 657 calories.  Last month got in 58.18 mile of running in 14.34 hours and burned 8903 calories.  That's it, no swim, no aerobics, no cycling.  Need to change this up next month.

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Another week down

With my allergies out of control the last couple of weeks my workouts have suffered along with my waist line.  When I can't workout steady I get depressed and all I do at night is eat.  My total for last week was:  Ran/walk for 13.45 miles which took 3h39m and burned 1947 calories.  As you can tell by the time most of this was walking.  At least I did something.  Im afraid to put my May total on tomorrow

Monday, May 30, 2011

Cortez

Went to Cortez for the Holiday weekend.  Had a good visit at Mesa Verde.  Always nice to get away for awhile.  Weather in Cortez was in the high 70's and low 80's which was nice but made us melt because we're not used to heat of any kind.  No ex. over the weekend just relaxed

Thursday, May 26, 2011

05/25/11

Got in a 3.56 miles walk/run which burned over 400 calories.  Getting in my workouts this holiday weekend will be challenging.  Taking my bike so hopefully I can get in some cycling. 

Wednesday, May 25, 2011

05/25/11

One day at a time.  3.21  miles which burned 479 calories for yesterday.  I will make this a habit....I will make this a habit.....

Tuesday, May 24, 2011

05/24/11

Still having problems with my allergies and asthma!  With that said I still got on the treadmill for a  walk/run of 3.17 miles and burned over 400 calories.  It felt good to do something even if it was slow.  I need to go the way of, one day at a time, taking one workout at a time.  Figuring out how to get that days workout in.  Not worrying about any workout other than that days workout.  So hopefully I am on the mend

Monday, May 23, 2011

No more complaining for me

This is my first no complaining post.  When things go wrong I will figure out how I can turn things around to benefit me.  Sometimes we need to vent but I need to watch it so I don't turn it into a complaining session.  The last few years I have signed up for different event that take place in the spring ( Ogden Marathon, Utah Valley Marathon, Moab Half, Hurricane Half).  I have had to cancel many of the runs because of spring allergies.  Sometimes it has been because I haven't been able to train because of allergies or it might be that I am having an allergy session during the time of the event.  Most of these events require you to sign up early because they fill up so fast.  I'm thinking that mid-summer or early fall events might be what I should be looking for.  I do have fall allergies which can be a problem also so what do you do?  Right now my conditioning is half marathon or sprint triathalon ready.  Having to set out the Sand Hallow Triathalon was hard for me to do but going to St. George, with all of the flowers and things out, with already having breathing problems, would not have been to smart.  If I would have went down, even to watch the guys, I know that I would have jumped in the water and made things worse.  I need to do what I can, when I can, and not beat myself up over the limitations I have.  There are spring, summer and fall runs and tri's, so I need to chose more wisely.  The guys finished Sand Hallow and they said they are looking forward to do more triathalons in the future.  They have one at Scofield Res. in July so maybe???????????  The really tough part of last week was no exercising at all.  I am not complaining, I just need to get back on track as soon as these allergies let me.

Monday, May 16, 2011

I complain alot!

My weekly totals ended up like last week with 20.61 miles of running in 5h03m which burned 3404 calories.  I did get in a 29 minute Insanity workout which was better than nothing.    Four days and I'll be at Sand Hallow doing the tri.  Again, when I get this under my belt, I will know which direction my training will take.  Weekends are turning into my week link.  I have good intentions of getting in my workouts but it seems the last two weekends I haven't.  Probably need to get my dead butt out of bed one of the mornings on the weekend for my long run so I can get in my mileage.  If I get it in first thing nothing can get in the way like it does in the weekend afternoon.   If I sound a little depressed or down in the dumps lately,  it is because allergy season is here and it sucks big time.  Carolyn and I went out Sunday for a wheeler ride to see how her knee would act.  See did great but was somewhat sore later.  Anyway the wind was blowing like crazy all day long.  When we got home from the ride we jump right on cutting the lawn and pasture with some weed eating while Carolyn cut.  I am getting a Kenalog shot today which alway helps.  I have a love hate relationship with Springtime.  I love the spring but hate the allergies that spring brings.  You know!  I have looked back on some of my posts and I sure do complaint alot.  I just might have to work on that 

Friday, May 13, 2011

0513/11

Wednesday did Insanity for 29 minutes.  Got on the treadmill for 5.26 miles.  Both of these burned 1169 calories.  Yesterday treadmilled it for 5.12 miles and burned around 745 calories.  No run today

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

05/11/11

Another 5.02 miles run yesterday which burned 745 calories.

Tuesday, May 10, 2011

05/10/11

Off lockdown so maybe I can get back to Insanity tomorrow.  Yesterday ran 5.21 miles which burned 745 calories.  Started yesterday taking the Casein Protein at night with more of the Whey Protein during the day.  This comes out to an extra 69 grams of protein in my diet.  We will see if this helps me recover better from my workout load.  It might not be right but I am looking so forward to having this tri overwith.  We will see when I get thru this one if I want to do more?????  I have a heck of a time getting myself to the pool for the swim.  We are having rain to go along with the snow coming off the mountain which is creating some mighty high river throughout the state.  No flooding in Sanpete that I know of.  Well here's to me and all of you to get healthy in our recovey so we can get on with our training

Monday, May 9, 2011

Want marathon shape

I didn't get my other run in but, it is what it is.  I did 20.41 mile in 5h10m and burned 2895 calories.  I got some good sleep during the weekend, a 10 hour and a 12 hour sleep, must have needed it.  My problem is that I am still sore.  I went back and took a look at my training log.  Looking at the log always tells the truth.  From the beginning of February my long run was 7.02 miles and all my daily run were 3+ miles.  I then start my marathon training thinking I had a base, which I don't,  long run of 7 miles in 10 weeks.  I then ran down Salina Canyon on 4/6 for 13.26 miles.  Two weeks later we do a 16.07 mile run down the canyon.  No wonder I am sore.  I know better than this.  I am wondering if the marathon on 6/11 is doable for me.  I always preach to everyone out there that you should slowly build up your mileage over at least a 16 to 18 week period.  Staying on a schedule for the long runs.  I want marathon shape.  Not the 6 hour marathons I have been doing.  I can live with 4 to 5 hour marathons.  Need to take a look at what will get me where I want to be

Saturday, May 7, 2011

05/07/11

Went to Billy's on Friday to visit for awhile.  I needed a run so with everything out blooming I figured the best thing for me was the AC.  Treadmilled it for 7.01 miles which Garmins says I burned 994 calories.  Saturday morning Carolyn and I went to the message college for there deal of two 45 minute massages for $25 bucks.  Can't beat that.  She had a good time and my massage was good as usual.  I need one more good run tomorrow to finish out my week.  I still want to do the HIIT but might have to put it on the back burner for awhile or until the Tri is completed in 14 days.  Will still take the supplements to see if they can get me over this tired sore body that I have.  Just Run

Thursday, May 5, 2011

HIIT

I took the day off work yesterday because allergies were acting up.  Getting 10.5 hours sleep was great since I have had a hard time staying in bed longer than 7 or 7.5 hours because my body hurts so bad.  When I get up and move I feel better.  I started feeling somewhat better in the afternoon so I treadmilled it for 5.02 miles which burned 745 calories.  Allergies were no worse after the run so I am glad that I got it in.  My body is still sore from Salina Canyon but the runs haven't made it worse or better.  I am going to start taking protein again.  I have Whey for the daytime and I ordered some casein protein to take at bedtime.  The casein is milk protein that is a slow digesting protein so it is perfect during the night to slowly feed the muscles so they can repair themselves.  I eat a grapefruit with a banana or apple for breakfast.  I will try and eat a salad at night.  I have glutamine powder that is susposed to help with recovery which I will start taking again.  I already take every vitimin out there.  I have a slow metabolism.  They say that High Intensity Interval Training  (HIIT) will rev up the metabolism.  I don't workout in the mornings, I just got used to the afternoon workouts and they are a part of my life.  Maybe I should try a fast HIIT workout when I get out of bed and see how that goes.  20 or 30 minutes is all that is susposed to be needed for it to work.  Might try that in the morning

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

04/04/11

Did 5.03 miles in 1 hour and 9 minutes.  On the treadmill you can put in you weight, so the treadmill calories were almost 900 while the  Garmin calories said 691 so what do you believe.  I did ok with the sore legs and all.  One of these days I will be able to run 10 minute miles again.  Just need to train that way..  We are in lockdown so my Insanity class in on hold until they are out again.  Well get some swimming in next week because I only have 17 days left until the tri.  With or without the wet suit I need to swim.  This week will most likely be run, run and more running

Tuesday, May 3, 2011

Need more sleep

I am still sore from the 16 mile run Saturday.  Yesterday I had to adjust the belts on the treadmills so I decided to get in my workout at the same time.  I was on and off the 4 treadmills for an hour and one minute for 3.35 miles which burned 465 calories.  Sometimes these after long run, runs, either refresh the legs or you get the feeling that I got.  My legs ended up dead and sore just like they felt after the run.  I know that it did me good, flushing out the bad stuff and getting good stuff in.  Normally when I am sore like this I take a few days off which usually turns into a bad week.  Not this time, 3 miles might not seem like much, but the effort was like it did 6+.  I might get a massage this weekend if we go to Murray.  I do need at least a 10 miler this weekend so my muscles don't forget what they are there for (use and abuse).  One thing I do know is that I need more sleep.  Go Brandon, your the man,  aceing your PT's like that

Monday, May 2, 2011

Go Navy Seals

I am slowly getting back into the training volume I need.  The hard part is it takes a toll on my body to get there.  I added 4 hours of total time to my week totals, which was running miles, I needed.  The totals for the week were:  Ran 23.35 miles, cycled 17.51 miles, Insanity for 2h20m.  Calories 6122.  Total workout time 9h42m.  Fairly good week, I just need more consistence in the running and cycling miles.  The total for the month were:  Ran 51.37 miles, cycled 61.90, swim .5 miles and Insanity 5h20m.  For a calorie burn of 15,824.  My total exercise time was 25h22m.  I have monthly exercise goals and they are:  Run 100 miles, cycle 100 miles, swim 4 miles and Insanity for 6 hours.  This creates a pretty good volume for exercise which will get me to where I want to be.  I need to be patient but stay consistent at the same time.  I need alot of work on my eating, (before and after workout).  I need more sleep when I workout this hard.  I know the Insanity is taking up alot of the time.  It is so different from my normal workouts that it tears my body down so much more than the running and cycling does.  I just enjoy the challenge of these workouts, so I think I will keep them.  I don't think I will have to worry about the adaption to the workout for sometime.  Go Navy Seals 

Sunday, May 1, 2011

05/01/11

I was sore today but needed to mow the pasture and the corrals before the grass got so high that the mower couldn't handle it.  I only was able to get that, a little bit by the road, the grass island in the driveway and some edging.  With that done I can now consentrate on the main lawn this week.  I didn't workout because my body is sounding off with, "what the heck are you doing to me this time and why".  I want 10 hours of sleep last night but there was no way that was going to happen.  To bed at 1130 and up at 0730 for 8 hours.  More than I have been getting but I really needed more.  No snow today.  The wind blew most of the day and it was partly cloudy all day long.  Said it was 52 but I don't believe it.  A hard freeze warning for tonight so there goes the apricots.  I moved around most of the day so hopefully I will be more lose tomorrow.  A new week and month of workouts start tomorrow, can't wait.

Saturday, April 30, 2011

It is what it is

I forgot to put in yesterdays blog that the bike ride did get me somewhat out of the Funk I was in.  At least enough that I went with Carolyn to the  spring banquet last night.  I don't like them but she does alot of things for me that she doesn't like either.  I really enjoy her company.  The longer we are together the more I realize what a wonderful women she is, better late then never!  Well todays workout went off rather well, except for the fact that I won't be able to walk tomorrow and Monday.  Ran down Salina Canyon for 16.01 miles which burned 2159 calories.  These runs keep reminding me how out of running shape I really am.  I wanted at least 15, but really set my sights on 16 or 17, so I am happy.  Ivie was feeling extra good so when I quit he kept running for whatever.  Rowdy went with and he ran for 17 miles and could have did more if I hadn't been done.  There was fresh snow for the first 5 miles and then the roads cleared off, except for patches of ice.  We had off and on again snow and of course the never ending wind.  When the wind blows I always say, " we are just getting that much better of a workout".  I think I might change my mind with the amount of wind this spring.  I use the term Spring losely because I am still waiting for it to show up.  Good workout.  I need a 19 and a 21 miler before Utah Valley.  It will be tight and I will be somewhat overtrained but it is what it is

Friday, April 29, 2011

Wind and more wind with snow

Windy, off and on snow, cold, what a day for a 17.51 mile bike ride which burned at least 1151 calories.  I was in a foul mood which started yesterday afternoon for some stupid reason that I have no clue what put me in that mood.  It carried on thru this morning and into the afternoon.  I had told Rowdy I was going for a bike ride so I called him up to see if he was as crazy as me.  He said yes and off we went to ride to Palisade Park in a snow storm.  The good thing was it wasn't sticking to the ground.  Coming down out of Palisade the cross wind hit us again and there was a moment where I thought I might loss control, but didn't.  Getting better with my bike handling skills.  Will try that long run tomorrow

Thursday, April 28, 2011

04/28/11

Sore as heck today from this weeks workouts, so far.  Yesterday did Insanity for one hour and ten minutes.  When I got done with that, treadmilled it for 3.11 miles.  Together they burned 1310 calories.  As I said I am wasted but feel so good at the same time.  I have a long run planned with Ivie and Rowdy Saturday down Salina Canyon again.  Did 13.25 miles two weeks ago and will try for at least 15 but would like16 or 17.  Will see what the body can take.  My feet are still somewhat sore from the run two weeks ago, sucks.  I have 6 weeks until the marathon minus the weekend of the tri and the week before the run taper, so 4 long runs left.  If I can get four weeks of 26 to 30 miles I should be able to gut it out thru the marathon.  Most likely another six hour burn but that is my own fault.  When I am done with these two events I will take a look at where I want my training to go

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

04/27/11

Quick post.  Ran 4.17 miles and burned around 667 calories.  Need to run, run and run some more.

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

04/26/11

Did one hour and ten minutes of Insanity which as usual kicked my butt.  I burned over 835 calories and as usual is was a good workout.  Gaining weight again but until I can make up my mind to stop grazing at night I don't have a chance to lose the weight I need to.  So until then I will workout as hard as I can so I can at least stay in shape somewhat.

Monday, April 25, 2011

Week totals

I ran 7.35 miles, cycled for 13.52 miles, swam for a half miles and did Insanity for 2h02 minutes. I was so sore from the 13.25 mile run down Salina Canyon I put off doing much running, which was a big mistake. I still got in 5 hours and 55 minutes of training which was not bad. Will do a long run this week down Salina Canyon and beat myself up again. Now the weather has somewhat broke, I need to pick up my training. Marathon June 11th so I have no choice. I need to work thru the soreness a little more than I have instead of taking it easy during the sore periods. I have been sucked into the mindset, your to old, you need to rest more to recuporate, your going to hurt yourself if you do to much, you can't do what you used to do bullshit way of thinking. I will not think like that. I think you can think yourself into being an old person if you think all the time about how old you are.  If you start believing that you have limitations, then you will have limitations.  I need to get back to JUST RUN, JUST TRAIN, JUST WORKOUT, JUST DO SOMETHING

Sunday, April 24, 2011

St. George

No ride in St. George today, just visited this morning and came home. The weather in SG is so great this time of the year. It made it hard to come home. In the future we might try and find something in SG that we can spend the winter in. I have always love the landscape and the weather, even the hot. Carolyn is finely on board which makes me want it even more. No exercise today. Will hit it hard next week

Saturday, April 23, 2011

Bring it on

Road the St. George Tri bicycle course this morning. I shouldn't say that I road the whole course because I started about a mile from the bottom and road up and over the hill. The hill was very challenging and I was in grandma to the top but made. Coming back down you cruise, did I say I crusied. I took the entire road and felt like I was doing 45+ mph. I then road to hwy. 9 to where Lyle waited for me. My ride was over 13 miles in one hour which burned at least 937 calories. Sand Hallow Res. was packed with Easter people so I didn't swim like I wanted. The wind was blowing like crazy and there was waves in the Res. I hope on May 21 that it is not windy like it was today because it took alot more energy for the bike ride than it should have. Will try and get in a bike ride tomorrow morning before we leave. Life is good if you workout. Bring on the Tri

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Looking forward to the weekend

I still have that good attitude from yesterday even with this enjoyable soreness from the Insanity class. The video is call max. cardio and it works you for 60 minutes of total insane high intensity high impact intervals that makes your heart want to explode. I think I am doing better, there is just no way to stay at that intensity for the three minutes because I can't get my breath. The muscles aren't the problem, it is my lung capacity, it sucks. Anyways I burned over 800 calories on that session and I am feeling it today. Looking forward to a few days off. Will try and get in some good cardio over the weekend

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

4/20/11

I woke up today in the best mood I have been in along time. Trying to wrap my mind around this feeling, wondering where it came from, took me back to what I accomplished yesterday. Work day went ok without incident, which is always good. I ran on the treadmill for 3.24 miles before heading over to Gunnison pool for a 1/2 miles swim with Carolyn. I ended up exercising for 1 hour and 36 minutes which burned 1070 calories. Exercising for over an hour and a half is pretty much the magic time that gives me the fix that I need. Everything is greening up quite nice which gives you a feeling of renewal after a long cold winter. I am happy that I still have days that are as wonderful as today because lately they have been far between. Just Run

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Things take time

My body is still sore from Saturdays run. You have to stay at it if you want to be a long distance runner. Again cycling, swimming and Insanity does not make you a runner. It helps with cross training and loosens up the joints but does little for the run. Yesterday got in some Insanity for one hour and three minutes which burned 848 calories. Had no choice but to take it easy so I didn't hurt myself. By the end of the workout I was loosened up but when I woke up this morning I was still stiff. Brandon is back home so he might start posting again. I guess I should do Facebook, but I already have to many things going. Rained to last couple of days so I guees April showers with bring May flowers. Our rivers are reaching flood level so with the rain we will see. Carolyns knee is doing great. She is still rushing it and needs to realize this will take time

Saturday, April 16, 2011

Holding me back

I got my yearly inservice classroom training out of the way and now back to business. Those two days there was no working out. Today, Saturday, I went for a run down Salina Canyon Frontage road with my friend Dee. It was a terrific run. It accomplished everything that I wanted, plus more. I needed to see my run fitness level. It is below what I expected. I had no speed. I was having pains in the groin area, which is unusual. I have lost the calouses off my feet, so I ended up with some blisters. My feet hurt from the pounding. Hips hurt and the usual between the shoulder tightness was there. When I got home I sat in the bathtub and let the cold water trickle into the tub. It is so cold this time of the year I might have sat in it to long, because now I can't get warm. This is a take-off of the ice bath theory which promotes healing. We ran for 13.25 miles and burned a little more than 2000 calories. With everything it was a great run. Wednesday I lost a tenth of a pound and Thursday I staying the same. Friday I was up nine tenths of a pound for no loss. I should have ran a five miler but with having the Salina Canyon run scheduled for Saturday I needed all the energy I could muster. I need to watch the weight because it is what is holding me back more than anything right now.

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Still loosing

Get the stats out of the way first thing. Yesterdays weight was 226.8 and this morning I was 225.4 for a 1.4 loss. So far I have lost 3.4 pounds. BP was still up at 135/86 and a 68 pulse. I keep forgetting to take my pulse before I get out of bed, that would be more or a resting pulse. Yesterday I ran for 5.16 miles and burned at least 854 calories. The run was rough because I was off and on the treadmill adjusting the belt tracking. A good workout though. I am in training for the next two days so I might not get in my workout. I hate training with a passion, so it takes all of my effort just to get through it. Have plans for some good workout this weekend. I hope the weather cooperates

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Good workout

Did a good Insanity workout for 58 minutes then went down and walked on the treadmills for 2.28 miles which burned 1042 calories. Felt good to get back at it, but I sure was stiff, which made it hard to get moving. I am going to post my morning weight and my blood pressure every morning when I first get up, again. I am setting a goal to loose weight each day. If I don't lose I have to do a 5 miles run that day even if I have swimming or Insanity scheduled for that day. Yesterday my stats were 228.8 and 138/81. This morning I was 226.8 and 138/90. I get out of bed, take my blood pressure then weigh. They say you can have elevated blood pressure upon rising in the morning, but, as I loose weight the morning bp goes down. So I lost 2 pounds in one day. Again the first 10 always comes off quick before it gets hard. I don't care if it's a tenth of a pound, I will have a loss tomorrow

Monday, April 11, 2011

Time out of control

Time has a way of just getting out of control. I say this because you start with one day of not working out. This turned into two days. This turns into a week. A week turns into two weeks and so on. You get the point. If we don't stay vigilant with your training schedule you end up with the last couple weeks like I have had. From 4/3 to 4/10 no exercise at all. This morning my blood pressure was back up to 131/81 and my weight is 228.8. We have to stay on top of this or it ends up looking like my last two weeks of workouts. March totals are: Ran 22.97 miles, sucks. Cycled 117.01 miles, right on! Swam 1 mile, not good. Insanity 5 hours and 24 minutes, good. All of this took 21 hours and burned 15,289 calories, good. I guess, overall that's not to back. There are areas I need work on like the running and the swimming. I guess what has me down is the first couple weeks of April. Need a good second half of the month

Thursday, April 7, 2011

03/07/11

No exercise yesterday either. We went to Monroe and pick up my new Tarus 38 special. Nice little carry gun. On the way home we stopped at Jorgensen in Richfield to see if they had a Ruger SR9 Compact and they did. They hadn't even put in on display. Carolyn fell in love with it and the deal was done. Now we just need to get our Utah carry permits. I can't wait to shoot the new guns. The gunsmith that sold me the 38, also sold me some plinking rounds and a box of 20 38+P's. With a smile he told me to make sure that I shot some of the +P's. So I guess that they must be pretty nasty in this light Snubby. It will be fun either way. Will try and get in some exercise this afternoon

Monday, April 4, 2011

Virus

I have had a stomach virus the last couple of days, even took the day off from work. No exercise make Larry a grouchy man! Hope the rest of ya are taking up the slack

Saturday, April 2, 2011

Feeling it

I got in a 30+ mile bike ride today and feel good about it. We planned on a 50 but Rowdy's chain broke and we had no way of fixing it. He was really bummed when he had to get a ride home. Devin and I road back to Sterling and up Palisade to the camp ground. Devin went home and I headed back to Manti. The wind was blowing like crazy most of the ride so I probably burned more than the 1400 calories my Garmin said. Need to get a chain tool and learn how to fix a broke link. That would suck to get out in the middle of no where and break a chain. The wind almost blew me over coming down out of Palisade cruising at 35 mph. With the new bag I installed I have more surface area for the wind to hit from the side. Need to be carefull when the wind is blowing. Susposed to snow tonight or in the morning so we need to get outdoors when we can. With unloading the coal and the ride I am feeling it tonight

Friday, April 1, 2011

4/1/11

Only two runs so far this week. I went up to the coal mine and got 3 ton of coal today. I got it unloaded and the trailer back to the person I borrowed it from. I guess unloading 3 ton of coal could be exercise. It's the same old thing. I get a really good week in one week and next to nothing for the following week. It is what is it. Couple of days left, we will see

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

A work in progress

Yesterday I wrote that if I didn't run my 30 miles a week I wasn't doing much in the exercise department, even if I put in 7+ hours of exercise. It's hard because running helped get me through major events in my life. I quit alcohol and cigarettes with the help of my runs. I needed to get into shape so I could pass Corrections PT test, running did that. When the stress of the new job at the prison got to much, I ran. Running has kept me at the prison because when I thought I didn't want anymore of this job, I ran, which made everything better and I stayed. When I just had a bad day, Carolyn would say, go run. Everytime life would through me a curve ball, I ran. I fell in love with running. I ran 5ks, 10ks, 1/2 marathons, marathons, 50ks and 50 milers. When I would see people that I hadn't see for awhile they would always say, are you still running. It not only became what I did, it became who I am. That's why I have had such a hard time putting in the mileage on the bicycle. It's not what I do! I want to be flexable. I want to be happy mixing up my workouts. I know running hurts me more than the cycling. I know that Insanity is making me stronger and more flexable. I know the swimming is working muscles I need worked. So how can I get to my happy place without the 30 miles a week? I am a work in progress until the end

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Persistence

I took a rest day yesterday because my body needed it. I have a real problem with the way I look at my workouts. I feel like I haven't did much because I don't have enough running mileage. I did a little over 10 miles last week. But I worked out for 7 hours and 21 minutes. That's alot of working out. I am running, cycling, swimming and doing Insanity which I think is actually getting me in better all around shape. I have to get over that fact that I can't get in my 30 miles a week and recover. Maybe if I get the weight off. Maybe if my body gets used to doing these workouts. Maybe if I eat better. Maybe if I keep up a good attitude. Maybe if all these come together I can start thinking that I am doing enough exercise

Monday, March 28, 2011

Just workout

I ended a very good week of workouts Sunday with a bicycle ride from Manti to Palisade. I bought a seat post rake, with bag, that slides on and clips in place. The reason I needed the bag is I have a tendency to over dress since getting older and I have no place to put the extra clothing when I take it off. Having the bag worked out great. I also upgraded my cycling shoes and pedals. The shoes are close to top of the line as are the pedals. These should last me the rest of my cycling career, unless I get crazy with my cycling. The weather was cloudy and windy with a chance of snow. I just over dressed, as usual, and made it a fun ride instead of a major workout. Got back to Manti as it started snowing. My week totals are: Ran 6.49 miles. Cycled 28.63 miles. Swam .55 miles. Insanity for 2 hours and 27 minutes. All this burned around 5243 calories. With all this working out I lost another 2 pound so I am now 220. Things are going good except for the running. I will start Hal Higdon's Marathon program this week. I think I need a schedule to help keep me on track. Life is great! Just WORKOUT

Saturday, March 26, 2011

Did a triple

Did a very good workout yesterday. Kind of started out sucky because I got to Gunnison Pool with Rowdy and realized I had forgot my wetsuit. The main reason I was there was to swim so we headed back to Manti and got the suit. The swim was better than last time and the time was over 10 minutes quicker. Still need work on the swim. Headed over to Body Barn there in Gunnison and road the spin bike for 12.5 miles. Jumped on the treadmill for a 5k run. The time was better than I have ever did which made me happy. Sore today from all the working out this week but it is what I needed to kick my weight loss and attitude in shape. Five workout in so far and it's only friday. My body is starting to tighten up somewhat and I haven't felt this for a long time. Rowdy thinks it is the Insanty, might be

Friday, March 25, 2011

Lemonade out of lemons

I had another episode where all the treadmills were in use yesterday afternoon. I knew that the wind was blowing outside and that even with the wind it wasn't that cold. So I headed outside to the track in front of the prison. I ended up with a enjoyable run, even with the wind. I was nice to be outside and maintenance had just graded the track, which made running all the more enjoyable. I ran for 3+ miles and burned over 400 calories. So you really can make lemonade out of lemons, meaning that I didn't get piss-off, I became more flexable which work out in my favor.

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Weather

Got in a good Insanity workout of 1 hour and 15 minutes which burned at least 898 calories. I am not doing my normal run after Insanity since I started doing an hour plus of this crazy workout. I was 220 this morning, so I am back on the right track again. Will work hard on getting in some workout this weekend, even with the weather being so crappy. We have three storms lined up out in the Pacific which should hit about a day apart. I love living here, but sometime the weather sucked big time. Things will get better or not

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Treadmilled it

Treadmilled it for 45 minutes, getting in 3.26 miles, burning around 479 calories. I do a very long slow warm-up to get things moving. So I am walking for the first 16 minutes. Yesterday I just got all warmed up and into my run when 3 guys from maintenance came in to run. O did I mention that all 4 treadmills were in use. So with people waiting I just could not do my 5 miles I was going to do with them setting the behind me. They were polite, but you know how it is when you know someone it waiting. Can't wait for the weather to shape up so everyone can get outside for there run. I do like to see the equipment being used, but 330 to 5pm are my time in the aerobic room. Just another ramble on yesterday

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Might be surprised

I didn't feel much like working out yesterday. My knee was bothering me all day, to the point they I had to get up and walk around. Again, I decided to start with the Insanity class and see how it went. A couple minutes into the workout I noticed my knee wasn't hurting as bad. Started really enjoying the workout, ended up staying for the ab workout. One hour and twelve minutes and a burn of over 800 calories I felt wonderful. The moral to this story is: If you don't feel like working out try starting, with the mind set that you can always stop at any time. As in my case you might be surprised

Monday, March 21, 2011

Messing with my attitude

I having a problem with dead legs. It's not that I don't eat enough, I do. Maybe mixing things up the way I have might be doing this to me. I love the Insanity class because it challenges me like nothing else. The Insanity is intensive cardio with jumps, kicks, squats and everything in between. Then with the cycling that uses legs, running that uses legs and swimming that uses legs, I don't get much rocovery. Might be part of the problem I have with consistency. I do a real heavy week, then several lite weeks, because I don't have the energy/recovery to put several heavy weeks together. I got my new alum. seat post, my new seat post rack and bag. I spent Friday deep cleaning and installing these on my bike. Will get a picture of the bike with my set-up soon. Cleaned house all day Sat. As you can see I didn't do anything this weekend, and I don't care. Last week I ran 0 miles, cycled for 17.77 miles, swam .25 mile and 2 Insanities for 1h27m. This morning I weighed 222 pounds, so I lost the 2 pounds. I am back on track with the weight loss. I will pick up the exercise as I can. The wind blew hard all weekend, with lite snow on Sun. morning. Today blowing like crazy with a chance of snow. I think the weather is teasing me, trying to mess with my attitude

Friday, March 18, 2011

Wet suit

Thursday morning I bucked up and test wore my new wet suit Gunnison Pool at 6 am. in the morning. Took Rowdy with because SBR Tri shop had told him a easy way to put it on. I don't think there is an esay way, just easier. I was able to fit into the suit and I don't know how I fit in it. We all have a perception of our bodies look. I know that I am 5'10" tall and I weigh 220, the size of a NFL Linebacker. I know that my body in not preportioned like the mentioned Linebacker. I have this suit on and look down at this huge rubber inclosed blimp (honest to God, I looked like the Hindenburg, just before it exploded). Then I have to check out myself in the mirror and that was not good. This black suit was not flattering in the least. I looked huge, with massive shoulders, arms, gutt with this little neck holding up this massive head. EGO''EGO''why do we have an ego when we are not trying to impress anyone. Why do I care so much what I look like this rubber torcher suit. Anyway, thank god there was only one person in the pool and he was busy doing laps. Swimming with the suit on is a hole other experience. Helped on the front stroke, side stroke, and on the back. The brest stroke which is my favorite I felt like I was tipped head first in the water. The was alot of boyancy from the suit. I could stay still in the water and not sink. Will have to practace lots with the suit on, OH JOY. Swam for 400 meters in 40 minutes of so. Now I have a brandnew reason to lose weight. So I don't look like, Blimpy Larry In The Wet Suit

Thursday, March 17, 2011

3/17/11

I ate a little better yesterday and had a fantistic ride on the farmers freeway with Rowdy for 17+ miles. Dropped one pound making me 223 lbs. Forgot to take my resting pulse this morning, need to get back in the habit of doing that again before I get out of bed. Also got in 45 minute of Insanity which kicked my butt before the bike ride. As I write this my legs are dead and I only got 6 hours of sleep last night, so I need to watch that I don't get sick. Life is good. I'll try and get in some good exercise this weekend

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Rambling part 2

I didn't exercise yesterday. It seems that I am losing my motivation to run, again. Along with that, I have slipped back into eating everything in sight. It's not like I'm not exercising because I am, at least 5 days a week. In the month since Carolyn had her operation I have went from 215 to 224 for a 9 pound gain. Here again if you don't watch what you eat it doesn't matter how much you exercise the weight will come back on. Unless your a professional athlete and all you do is train, eat, sleep then do it all over the next day. I am liking the Insanity and really enjoying the cycling. The running, which I call my first love, we are having a love hate relationship right now. The swimming, I am having a hard time getting into. I wanted to use this site to motivate myself and others to stay with it for the long term. So the munching at night stops today, AGAIN! I will lose at least 2 pounds by Monday the 21st. I am going back to posting my weight here everyday, so I start at 224 and I will be 222 by monday. Commitment! I will start taking my resting pulse first thing in the morning, AGAIN! The Doritos are gone, AGAIN! Tomorrow morning I will swallow my pride and swim in my wet suit and get that over with. I have Insanity at 2 pm. and a bike ride with Rowdy at 4 pm. if it is not raining and blowing like it is susposed to do this afternoon. If I believed in counseling I would probably get some for my eating problem. But, I believe we need to solve our own problem our own way. If you haven't made up your mind to do something all the counceling in the world is not going to help. So with that said, I need to solve my eating problem my own way as I did with cigarettes, chewing and the beer. I know that me, being compulsive obsessive doesn't help. We have the power inside of each of us, power we seldom use, to do the impossible, so I will get this done, with the help of myself and I!

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Weeks totals

My totals for last week were. Ran 3.03 miles. Cycled 47.33 miles. O Swim. Did 2 sessions of Insanity for a total of 1 1/2 hours. Not bad as far a weeks worth of workouts. I just need to get over these bout of allergies, then pick it up a bit. I agree with Rowdy, that I do like the cycling. Got in 45 minutes of Insanity yesterday with a butt kicking workout. The weather is warming up. Small storms are coming through but they are not amounting to much. I need to get outside as much as possible this year and get off the treadmills. Carolyn is doing fantastic. I have a plan Thursday morning to try and get my fat body into my new wet suit at Gunnison Swimming Pool. I hope no other people are there, because I don't want to cause anyone to have nightmares for the rest of there life. DO SOMETHING..ANYTHING..GET YOUR HEARTRATE UP EACH DAY FOR AT LEAST 45 MINUTES..THAT IS A START!

Monday, March 14, 2011

Need to get on track

I road to Palisade again Sunday. The wind sure plays into how hard you have to pedal. Even with the wind the two rides this weekend were great. I need to come up with a plan to get my long runs in. I will work on that this week on what to do. Also need to get in some swimming if I want to do the tri. I am not slacking, I am just not doing the exercises I should be doing. Ten weeks to get the swimming down and seventeen weeks till the marathon. Both are doable, just need to get on track.

Sunday, March 13, 2011

A walk around walmart

Friday I cycled from Manti to Palisade for 15 miles and got a good calorie burn with the hills leading up to the Campground. Didn't get in to see the Doctor so I changed my mind on doing the 15 mile run. I can control my breathing easier on the bike and still get in a very good workout. Bicycling might be my sport of the future. Had a good weekend. Carolyn's knee is healing great and she is getting around so very good. We walked around Walmart Friday. She gets a little swelling but we put ice on it and it goes right back down. It has only been four weeks tomorrow. Sad that the earthquake in Japan has taken so many lifes and caused so much damage. Our hearts and prayers go out to all those in the area. Stay safe

Thursday, March 10, 2011

"it's what I do"

Slacker that I am (blogging), and I'm not talking about not exercising, because I have been doing my workouts. I have taken all my meds. that Armstrong perscribed me and I'm still having problems. Called him today to see if anything else can be done. The rest of this blog will most likely have you thinking, why is he still doing all this. The answer is "it's what I do!" I decide to stay out of the pool and see if the clorine might be part of the problem. Then started out the week thinking that I would only do one workout a day this week and see how my recovery went. Tuesday the 8th I ran on the treadmill for a little over 3 miles. Yesterday went for a bike ride with Devin and Rowdy, almost 18 miles on the Farmers Freeway, during lunch time. The calfs were crampy during the second half of the ride so drank a orange juice and had something to eat. Two oclock rolled around and time for my Insanity class. I decided to do the class and see how I felt, knowing I can stop at any time. I was able to get through the first 40 minute video. I was exhausted. Got home, ate dinner and took my vitamins with extra Potassium. Put Carolyns ice machine on my calfs and hammys for 20 minutes each. Slept like a baby, but sure didn't want to get out of bed this morning. Will go for a treadmill run this afternoon. Would like to get in 10 hours of sleep tonight. As you can see, not doing 2 a days didn't last very long. Lets make our exercising a lift time commitment. Keep your mind and body active. Carolyn has been putting in 5 hours a day here at work. She tweeked her knee somewhat yesterday when she tripped over my crocks while put wood on the fire. She is taking the day off. I am glad because even though I push her harder than anyone she needs a good day of rest. I am so proud of the way she has handled everything. SHE IS AMAZING