Wednesday, March 30, 2011

A work in progress

Yesterday I wrote that if I didn't run my 30 miles a week I wasn't doing much in the exercise department, even if I put in 7+ hours of exercise. It's hard because running helped get me through major events in my life. I quit alcohol and cigarettes with the help of my runs. I needed to get into shape so I could pass Corrections PT test, running did that. When the stress of the new job at the prison got to much, I ran. Running has kept me at the prison because when I thought I didn't want anymore of this job, I ran, which made everything better and I stayed. When I just had a bad day, Carolyn would say, go run. Everytime life would through me a curve ball, I ran. I fell in love with running. I ran 5ks, 10ks, 1/2 marathons, marathons, 50ks and 50 milers. When I would see people that I hadn't see for awhile they would always say, are you still running. It not only became what I did, it became who I am. That's why I have had such a hard time putting in the mileage on the bicycle. It's not what I do! I want to be flexable. I want to be happy mixing up my workouts. I know running hurts me more than the cycling. I know that Insanity is making me stronger and more flexable. I know the swimming is working muscles I need worked. So how can I get to my happy place without the 30 miles a week? I am a work in progress until the end

Tuesday, March 29, 2011

Persistence

I took a rest day yesterday because my body needed it. I have a real problem with the way I look at my workouts. I feel like I haven't did much because I don't have enough running mileage. I did a little over 10 miles last week. But I worked out for 7 hours and 21 minutes. That's alot of working out. I am running, cycling, swimming and doing Insanity which I think is actually getting me in better all around shape. I have to get over that fact that I can't get in my 30 miles a week and recover. Maybe if I get the weight off. Maybe if my body gets used to doing these workouts. Maybe if I eat better. Maybe if I keep up a good attitude. Maybe if all these come together I can start thinking that I am doing enough exercise

Monday, March 28, 2011

Just workout

I ended a very good week of workouts Sunday with a bicycle ride from Manti to Palisade. I bought a seat post rake, with bag, that slides on and clips in place. The reason I needed the bag is I have a tendency to over dress since getting older and I have no place to put the extra clothing when I take it off. Having the bag worked out great. I also upgraded my cycling shoes and pedals. The shoes are close to top of the line as are the pedals. These should last me the rest of my cycling career, unless I get crazy with my cycling. The weather was cloudy and windy with a chance of snow. I just over dressed, as usual, and made it a fun ride instead of a major workout. Got back to Manti as it started snowing. My week totals are: Ran 6.49 miles. Cycled 28.63 miles. Swam .55 miles. Insanity for 2 hours and 27 minutes. All this burned around 5243 calories. With all this working out I lost another 2 pound so I am now 220. Things are going good except for the running. I will start Hal Higdon's Marathon program this week. I think I need a schedule to help keep me on track. Life is great! Just WORKOUT

Saturday, March 26, 2011

Did a triple

Did a very good workout yesterday. Kind of started out sucky because I got to Gunnison Pool with Rowdy and realized I had forgot my wetsuit. The main reason I was there was to swim so we headed back to Manti and got the suit. The swim was better than last time and the time was over 10 minutes quicker. Still need work on the swim. Headed over to Body Barn there in Gunnison and road the spin bike for 12.5 miles. Jumped on the treadmill for a 5k run. The time was better than I have ever did which made me happy. Sore today from all the working out this week but it is what I needed to kick my weight loss and attitude in shape. Five workout in so far and it's only friday. My body is starting to tighten up somewhat and I haven't felt this for a long time. Rowdy thinks it is the Insanty, might be

Friday, March 25, 2011

Lemonade out of lemons

I had another episode where all the treadmills were in use yesterday afternoon. I knew that the wind was blowing outside and that even with the wind it wasn't that cold. So I headed outside to the track in front of the prison. I ended up with a enjoyable run, even with the wind. I was nice to be outside and maintenance had just graded the track, which made running all the more enjoyable. I ran for 3+ miles and burned over 400 calories. So you really can make lemonade out of lemons, meaning that I didn't get piss-off, I became more flexable which work out in my favor.

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Weather

Got in a good Insanity workout of 1 hour and 15 minutes which burned at least 898 calories. I am not doing my normal run after Insanity since I started doing an hour plus of this crazy workout. I was 220 this morning, so I am back on the right track again. Will work hard on getting in some workout this weekend, even with the weather being so crappy. We have three storms lined up out in the Pacific which should hit about a day apart. I love living here, but sometime the weather sucked big time. Things will get better or not

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Treadmilled it

Treadmilled it for 45 minutes, getting in 3.26 miles, burning around 479 calories. I do a very long slow warm-up to get things moving. So I am walking for the first 16 minutes. Yesterday I just got all warmed up and into my run when 3 guys from maintenance came in to run. O did I mention that all 4 treadmills were in use. So with people waiting I just could not do my 5 miles I was going to do with them setting the behind me. They were polite, but you know how it is when you know someone it waiting. Can't wait for the weather to shape up so everyone can get outside for there run. I do like to see the equipment being used, but 330 to 5pm are my time in the aerobic room. Just another ramble on yesterday

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Might be surprised

I didn't feel much like working out yesterday. My knee was bothering me all day, to the point they I had to get up and walk around. Again, I decided to start with the Insanity class and see how it went. A couple minutes into the workout I noticed my knee wasn't hurting as bad. Started really enjoying the workout, ended up staying for the ab workout. One hour and twelve minutes and a burn of over 800 calories I felt wonderful. The moral to this story is: If you don't feel like working out try starting, with the mind set that you can always stop at any time. As in my case you might be surprised

Monday, March 21, 2011

Messing with my attitude

I having a problem with dead legs. It's not that I don't eat enough, I do. Maybe mixing things up the way I have might be doing this to me. I love the Insanity class because it challenges me like nothing else. The Insanity is intensive cardio with jumps, kicks, squats and everything in between. Then with the cycling that uses legs, running that uses legs and swimming that uses legs, I don't get much rocovery. Might be part of the problem I have with consistency. I do a real heavy week, then several lite weeks, because I don't have the energy/recovery to put several heavy weeks together. I got my new alum. seat post, my new seat post rack and bag. I spent Friday deep cleaning and installing these on my bike. Will get a picture of the bike with my set-up soon. Cleaned house all day Sat. As you can see I didn't do anything this weekend, and I don't care. Last week I ran 0 miles, cycled for 17.77 miles, swam .25 mile and 2 Insanities for 1h27m. This morning I weighed 222 pounds, so I lost the 2 pounds. I am back on track with the weight loss. I will pick up the exercise as I can. The wind blew hard all weekend, with lite snow on Sun. morning. Today blowing like crazy with a chance of snow. I think the weather is teasing me, trying to mess with my attitude

Friday, March 18, 2011

Wet suit

Thursday morning I bucked up and test wore my new wet suit Gunnison Pool at 6 am. in the morning. Took Rowdy with because SBR Tri shop had told him a easy way to put it on. I don't think there is an esay way, just easier. I was able to fit into the suit and I don't know how I fit in it. We all have a perception of our bodies look. I know that I am 5'10" tall and I weigh 220, the size of a NFL Linebacker. I know that my body in not preportioned like the mentioned Linebacker. I have this suit on and look down at this huge rubber inclosed blimp (honest to God, I looked like the Hindenburg, just before it exploded). Then I have to check out myself in the mirror and that was not good. This black suit was not flattering in the least. I looked huge, with massive shoulders, arms, gutt with this little neck holding up this massive head. EGO''EGO''why do we have an ego when we are not trying to impress anyone. Why do I care so much what I look like this rubber torcher suit. Anyway, thank god there was only one person in the pool and he was busy doing laps. Swimming with the suit on is a hole other experience. Helped on the front stroke, side stroke, and on the back. The brest stroke which is my favorite I felt like I was tipped head first in the water. The was alot of boyancy from the suit. I could stay still in the water and not sink. Will have to practace lots with the suit on, OH JOY. Swam for 400 meters in 40 minutes of so. Now I have a brandnew reason to lose weight. So I don't look like, Blimpy Larry In The Wet Suit

Thursday, March 17, 2011

3/17/11

I ate a little better yesterday and had a fantistic ride on the farmers freeway with Rowdy for 17+ miles. Dropped one pound making me 223 lbs. Forgot to take my resting pulse this morning, need to get back in the habit of doing that again before I get out of bed. Also got in 45 minute of Insanity which kicked my butt before the bike ride. As I write this my legs are dead and I only got 6 hours of sleep last night, so I need to watch that I don't get sick. Life is good. I'll try and get in some good exercise this weekend

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Rambling part 2

I didn't exercise yesterday. It seems that I am losing my motivation to run, again. Along with that, I have slipped back into eating everything in sight. It's not like I'm not exercising because I am, at least 5 days a week. In the month since Carolyn had her operation I have went from 215 to 224 for a 9 pound gain. Here again if you don't watch what you eat it doesn't matter how much you exercise the weight will come back on. Unless your a professional athlete and all you do is train, eat, sleep then do it all over the next day. I am liking the Insanity and really enjoying the cycling. The running, which I call my first love, we are having a love hate relationship right now. The swimming, I am having a hard time getting into. I wanted to use this site to motivate myself and others to stay with it for the long term. So the munching at night stops today, AGAIN! I will lose at least 2 pounds by Monday the 21st. I am going back to posting my weight here everyday, so I start at 224 and I will be 222 by monday. Commitment! I will start taking my resting pulse first thing in the morning, AGAIN! The Doritos are gone, AGAIN! Tomorrow morning I will swallow my pride and swim in my wet suit and get that over with. I have Insanity at 2 pm. and a bike ride with Rowdy at 4 pm. if it is not raining and blowing like it is susposed to do this afternoon. If I believed in counseling I would probably get some for my eating problem. But, I believe we need to solve our own problem our own way. If you haven't made up your mind to do something all the counceling in the world is not going to help. So with that said, I need to solve my eating problem my own way as I did with cigarettes, chewing and the beer. I know that me, being compulsive obsessive doesn't help. We have the power inside of each of us, power we seldom use, to do the impossible, so I will get this done, with the help of myself and I!

Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Weeks totals

My totals for last week were. Ran 3.03 miles. Cycled 47.33 miles. O Swim. Did 2 sessions of Insanity for a total of 1 1/2 hours. Not bad as far a weeks worth of workouts. I just need to get over these bout of allergies, then pick it up a bit. I agree with Rowdy, that I do like the cycling. Got in 45 minutes of Insanity yesterday with a butt kicking workout. The weather is warming up. Small storms are coming through but they are not amounting to much. I need to get outside as much as possible this year and get off the treadmills. Carolyn is doing fantastic. I have a plan Thursday morning to try and get my fat body into my new wet suit at Gunnison Swimming Pool. I hope no other people are there, because I don't want to cause anyone to have nightmares for the rest of there life. DO SOMETHING..ANYTHING..GET YOUR HEARTRATE UP EACH DAY FOR AT LEAST 45 MINUTES..THAT IS A START!

Monday, March 14, 2011

Need to get on track

I road to Palisade again Sunday. The wind sure plays into how hard you have to pedal. Even with the wind the two rides this weekend were great. I need to come up with a plan to get my long runs in. I will work on that this week on what to do. Also need to get in some swimming if I want to do the tri. I am not slacking, I am just not doing the exercises I should be doing. Ten weeks to get the swimming down and seventeen weeks till the marathon. Both are doable, just need to get on track.

Sunday, March 13, 2011

A walk around walmart

Friday I cycled from Manti to Palisade for 15 miles and got a good calorie burn with the hills leading up to the Campground. Didn't get in to see the Doctor so I changed my mind on doing the 15 mile run. I can control my breathing easier on the bike and still get in a very good workout. Bicycling might be my sport of the future. Had a good weekend. Carolyn's knee is healing great and she is getting around so very good. We walked around Walmart Friday. She gets a little swelling but we put ice on it and it goes right back down. It has only been four weeks tomorrow. Sad that the earthquake in Japan has taken so many lifes and caused so much damage. Our hearts and prayers go out to all those in the area. Stay safe

Thursday, March 10, 2011

"it's what I do"

Slacker that I am (blogging), and I'm not talking about not exercising, because I have been doing my workouts. I have taken all my meds. that Armstrong perscribed me and I'm still having problems. Called him today to see if anything else can be done. The rest of this blog will most likely have you thinking, why is he still doing all this. The answer is "it's what I do!" I decide to stay out of the pool and see if the clorine might be part of the problem. Then started out the week thinking that I would only do one workout a day this week and see how my recovery went. Tuesday the 8th I ran on the treadmill for a little over 3 miles. Yesterday went for a bike ride with Devin and Rowdy, almost 18 miles on the Farmers Freeway, during lunch time. The calfs were crampy during the second half of the ride so drank a orange juice and had something to eat. Two oclock rolled around and time for my Insanity class. I decided to do the class and see how I felt, knowing I can stop at any time. I was able to get through the first 40 minute video. I was exhausted. Got home, ate dinner and took my vitamins with extra Potassium. Put Carolyns ice machine on my calfs and hammys for 20 minutes each. Slept like a baby, but sure didn't want to get out of bed this morning. Will go for a treadmill run this afternoon. Would like to get in 10 hours of sleep tonight. As you can see, not doing 2 a days didn't last very long. Lets make our exercising a lift time commitment. Keep your mind and body active. Carolyn has been putting in 5 hours a day here at work. She tweeked her knee somewhat yesterday when she tripped over my crocks while put wood on the fire. She is taking the day off. I am glad because even though I push her harder than anyone she needs a good day of rest. I am so proud of the way she has handled everything. SHE IS AMAZING

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Ramblings

I am troubled with the direction to take with my workouts. As I have posted I am training for a marathon in June and a Triathalon in May. I am trying to find a happy balance that I can live with both mentally and physically. I need to be running a 15 miler this weekend, but I also want to do the Tri distance. What I am having problems with is doing two a days and being able to recover (being almost 62 sucks as far as recovery). Maybe once the swimming becomes more natural, it could be worked into two a days. A run with a swim later. A bike ride with a swim. No impact so easier recovery. So a long run every other weekend on Fri. or Sat. with a long bike ride on the run off weekends. I recover from the bike ride quicker than the run so there should be plenty of rest? Where can I fit in doing the TRI distance without crashing my body. Maybe a three week rotation with a run, bike and the tri distance on consective weekends. I would have to increase my runs by 2 mile increments, but only doing a long run every three weeks would give me plenty of rest. I will try this and post how it goes. Yesterday got in 50 minutes of Insanity,(don't know where Insanity will fit in), which burned a little over 500 calories. Carolyn did work for 5 hours and it really wore her out. We will see what today brings. Sorry about the book. It's just me thinking and you know that can be dangerous. Just Workout

Monday, March 7, 2011

She is Amazing

I took yesterday off in the since that I did not exercise. We cleaned the house. It is amazing to me how two people and one cat can clutter the way we do. Lyle and Arlene were down for the weekend and it was good to spend time with them. I think I will give the meds. until Thursday, then see how I feel, before I call Armstrong. I just don't want the sinuses to get out of control. Carolyn's all ready dressed at the house waiting for the PT to come, then she is planning on coming to work for awhile. She is amazing. Just Run/Just Do Something

Sunday, March 6, 2011

Farmers Freeway

Been awhile since anyone has posted so I thought I would get up to date. I still don't feel up to par. I will ask Armstrong tomorrow for another round of prednisone. I feel like I still have the sinus problem so maybe more antibotics. He doesn't like giving them to me, so we will see, even though I know my body pretty well. Even though I don't feel quite up to doing much I did get in some exercise. Some might think that it is counter productive to exercise while the body is trying to get over a health problem, I feel better when I push myself through it. Thursday I ran for 6 miles. Friday I rode the bike around Manti for 5 or 6 miles just to get in some seat time. Saturday did the Farmers Freeway with Rowdy and Devon for 17 miles. It was nice to get outside and exercise. Seems like this has been an extra long winter for me. We went to Walmart and Carolyn walked around the store. She is amazing and I think her recovery has been better than any of us could have expected. She is so much stronger than she gives herself credit for. As you can tell I am proud of her. Need you to post so I know I am not the only crazy one out there that doesn't only write on Facebook. Just Run

Tuesday, March 1, 2011

February totals.

I was upset with my totals for the month, so I checked out this time last year. My running miles are about the same with 19.46 this year and 22 last year. Still depressed I looked up my weight. Last year I was 242.2 and this year I am 217.5. The 24.7 pound loss cheered me up. I have gained 2 and a half pounds from my year low of 215 but with the lack of exercise, not bad. My totals for Feb. Run 19.46 miles. Bike 42.5 miles. Swim 1 miles. Insanity for one and a half hours. So with over training and having to take the first week of the month off and Carolyn having surgery and having a bad case of Shingles and having an episode of not being able to breath, I guess I can live with it. Enough of that! I have a doctor appt. today for the Shingles and my breathing. Hopefully I can get those two under control and back to exercising. We all have set backs, just get back on the horse, start exercising as soon as possible.