Monday, January 31, 2011

Good week for me

Got in 14.18 mile run yesterday and burned over 1900 calories. I am slow but they are miles on the road moving my legs to cover the distance. Weather was 40 when started and dropped from there. I ran the distance in running shorts a longsleeve shirt with a shortsleeve over it. Should have dressed a little warmer. I know better. I can't believe the week I was able to put in without breaking myself. Ran 33.88 miles, cycled 12.5 miles, swam 1 mile, Insanity for 1 hour 30 minutes and burned over 7788 calories. I need 6.62 miles today to break 100 for the month. We will see. Will post my monthly stats tomorrow. My weight plus the gut check measurements. Workout, just do something

Saturday, January 29, 2011

Swim/Bike/Run

Most of you know me, I workout alone. I have a tendency to go to my special place and hate any intrusions. With my breathing the way it is, I have a had time carrying on a conversation without gasping between words. This is why yesterdays workout was so unique for me. Rowdy wanted the ones that could, to do the Sprint Tri distance. We met at Snow AC and did the swim, 1/2 miles in 47 minutes, stationary bike, 12.5 miles in 52 minutes. They only have 2 treadmill at the AC, Rowdy was on one and a girl on the other. Instead of waiting for them to get done, I decided to come home and get on my treadmill to finish up. By the time I got home I had talked myself out of it with some very good excuses. Honestly they were quite convincing. I mentioned to Carolyn that Rowdy would probably be disappointed if I didn't do the 5k. She just looked at me and said,"Well then". With that I got on the treadmill and finished up the distance, 3.1 miles in 38 minutes. After finishing up I felt better about myself. I burned a total of 1749 calories. I got 9 hours sleep and my resting pulse was still 59. I am not working out today. I still need a 14 mile run for my marathon training to be on schedule. We will see

Friday, January 28, 2011

1/28/11

Yesterday I ran for 6.09 miles and burned 933 calories. It was a tough workout and took forever. This week has been wonderfull so far. I got in 9.5 hours sleep last night and my resting pulse was 59, so still good to go. I have already did my workout for today but will not write about it until tomorrow. I need the rest of the day to digest what I did. Tomorrow

Thursday, January 27, 2011

Overtraining part 2

My continuation on overtraining syndrome. Symptoms of overtraining can be, fatigue, moody, altered sleep paterns, depression, loss of desire to workout, sick more often, persistent muscle soreness, increase of injuries and the one I need to get is, loss of appetite. One of our best tools to gage this is your morning pulse. Get a baseline of your morning heartrate for a week or so by checking it first thing in the morning, before you get out of bed. After establishing your average, before rising heartrate, you see a 5% increase, go easy that day. If you see a 10% increase take at least one day off. Over the years I have had everyone of the above symptoms. If I would have listened to what my body was telling me, I could have avoided the down time. Just food for thought. I ran 3.58 miles and did 45 minutes of Insanity for a calorie burn of 998 yesterday and my morning pulse was 58. I am still good to go. Lets all workout and make this a lifetime commitment

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

Another book

As I said yesterday I would share my thoughts on why I felt so sick over the weekend. I few years back I developed over-training syndrome because I was doing a long run of at least 20 to 25 miles every week,which, with my regular miles means I was running 40 to 50 miles a week. This was along with running trail runs of 50k and 50 miles along with my normal marathons. My body just shut down.  For over 2 years I had a hard time just getting out the door. It was horrible. I would put on my runnng shorts and shirt, then sit there in front of the TV for an hour, most of the time never getting out the door. I would start thinking about running and my body would start aching. I mean, I would hurt all over, like I was coming down with the flu. Mind and body were conspiring against me.I think that is still happening to me now when I train hard like I am doing. Monday when I was shamed into doing Insanity my mind and body told me I was sick. As I got into the exercise the endorfins kicked in and I was all of a sudden better.I need to remember this because witht he goals I have made for myself I will be training harder than ever. Yesterday I hit the treadmill for 3.39 miles then swam for an hour, which was over a half mile, burning 1164 calories. First time doing lap and it kicked my butt more than I thought it would. My weight this morning was 215.6. I took my pulse before getting out of bed and it was 59. I will post tomorrow on overtraining and the corralation between resting heart

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

01/25/11

It was great to hear from my fellow workout freaks.  I look forward every morning getting into the blogs to see whats going on.  Monday I went to class with the down in the dumps feelling, like I don't feel much like working out.  One of the  students who I know quite well said to just try it and see how it goes.  I must be doing something right as a teacher because he gave me my own advise.  After that I couldn't just sit there watching them do Insanity, I had to get me some of that.  A rough beginning but once I loosened up I was able to get in the swing of things and O what a workout I had.  We do over an hour of High Impact Aerobics but I have to rest so much I call it 45 minutes.  I need my running miles for the marathon training so got on the treadmill after work for 3.11 miles which burned a total of 1023 calories.  My weight this morning was 216.6 which I can live with because with the four days of doing nothing a one pound gain is alot better than a four pound gain.  I will write tomorrow on what I think happen to me when I start doing to much.  I don't want this to turn into a book

Monday, January 24, 2011

01/24/11

I got in 6.04 miles running and 19.26 miles on the bike which burned 1679 calories last week.  The totals are way down because I came down with something.  No cough, no fever, just a slight sore throat, alittle cramping, really tired and I hurt all over.  My body handles bugs different that most people.  Mom and Dad have been very sick but I had none of there symptoms.  One thing is for sure, I hurt bad when I don't exercise.  Laying around for 4 days does not my body well.  My weight this morning was 219.6 pounds  No way in hell I have gained 4 pounds in 4 days.  I know your body can show a 4 pound difference in just one day but it stll sucks.  I am still on track for my marathon, I just need to get in a 14 miler this week.  Pray for warm weather because I want to get outside.  Life is to short to have all this cold weather

Tuesday, January 18, 2011

1/18/11

We finally had two days in the upper 40's.  The first one got away from me but not the second one.  I aired up the bicycle tires, threw the bike in the back of the truck and headed out for the Farmers Freeway.  I road for 19.26 miles and burned 1120 calories.  It was a great feeling to be outside exercising.  We had a little inversion but not as bad as in Salt Lake City.  All I need now is to get in some swimming.  Weight is 215.6

Monday, January 17, 2011

Setting unrealistic goals?

I love having four days off in a row.  Last week was a great week of workouts.  I strung 6 of them together and the one day off seemed to do the trick as far as recovery.  I ran 28.29 miles, Insanity two time for one and a half hours, for a total calorie burn of 5230.  My weight went to 215.6 pounds for a loss this week of  1.2 pounds.  No swim or bike ride but that will come.  When I look in the mirror I can finally see a change.  When I think back to when I started at the prison 18.5 years ago I weighed 180.  I have posted before how I yo-yo dieted up to 251 pounds.  That was the weight is was 3 or 4 years ago around Christmas when Dahl and I weighed ourselves.  I have slowly brought my weight down.  Last August I went back to 241 pounds and that was an eye opener for me and that is why I weigh myself everyday now.  I guess losing 25.4 pounds since August and keeping it off is something to be proud of.  BUT, I need to keep the mind-set that I have now to be able to accomplish this.  I hate unrealistic goals, but I am setting one right now.  No gain in weight from now on.  If I see one I have one week to get it off.  Run a marathon at 180 pounds before I die

Sunday, January 16, 2011

1/16/11

No workout yesterday.  We cleaned  the house instead.  When I got done I did not want to run so I didn't.  Friday was able to get in another 3.03 miles and burn 479 calories.  Today is the day to try and get the rest of my miles in.  I can't believe that half this month is over. 

Friday, January 14, 2011

Friday morning

It is fun for me to read the progress of everyone whos blog I follow.  Everyone is reading each others blogs and getting inspired by that person workout.  There was many times when Brandon was in Afaganstan on his last tour that because of his 6 miles on the treadmill, that I, when I really didn't want to run, was inspired to start my workout and see how it would go.  Usually after the initial warm-up I would get in my 5 miles.  I need to share yesterday with you.  I needed to get one of our treadmills up and running because we were down to 3.  I was so sore after the Insanity and the 3 miler the day before that a workout was far from my mind.  After 4 hours of moving around, with the many ups and down, with the contorded positions I was in while working, I got some of the stiffness out.  Of course you can't just say the treadmill is fixed without taking it for a test run.  I ended up with another 3.52 miles, burning 479 calories.  Even though I was off and on the treadmill adjusting the belt a few times I completed another workout and I went home feeling very good about myself.  WHAT, a little self esteem, YES!  I went to bed at 10 pm because I couldn't keep my eyes open any longer.  I woke up this morning at 10 am, 12 hours of sleep.  Someone might beat themselves up over sleeping that long but not I.  I needed it.  I took it.  I benefitted from it.  I wish I could give all of you a transfussion of the way I am feeling right now.  I am on an upper, that no way in hell, you could feel any better being on drugs.  As a bonus for STAYING CONSISTENT I weighed 215.0 pounds this morning.  Remember: EAT, SLEEP, WORKOUT, ATTITUDE.  Then do it all over again until it becomes a habit.  Today I can't help but say, I love ya all

Thursday, January 13, 2011

1/13/11

Did Insanity workout yesterday for, lets say, 45 minutes.  Ran for 3.12 miles and the total workouts burned 924 calories.  Sore and tired today but feeling good about my conditioning.  Just do something

Wednesday, January 12, 2011

Drink your water

I really didn't want to get out of bed this morning.  Doing the areobics works quite a few different muscles.  Exampe is: the bottom of both calves hurt, my traps hurt,  inside forearms, abs somewhat, all over tired.  I went to bed at 9 pm but the 8 hours wasn't enough.  I did repairs on the treadmills yesterday, then a run of 3.42 miles which burned about 479 calories.  I had to walk more than normal but got it in anyway.  Am staying at 216.8 lbs. but I know I will start losing again soon.  Stretching is helping with my aches and pains.  The different movements with the aerobics should help limber me up more.  The repetitive movements of running makes the body stiff, so all this other exercise will help.  Tip of the day:  Drink at least one gallon of water a day.  More if you workout, you have sweat more than normal, your workout conditions were hot or super humid.  Just Drink WATER

Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Happy Birthday Billy, have a great one. Love ya, DAD

They finally got me some help here at work.  I now have time to teach my Sports Nutrition Classes again.  I do 30 minutes of lecture and an hour of aerobics twice a week.  This term I decided to get some of the aerobic since I have to be in the classroom anyway.  I do a slower version of the exercises for the not so fit.  I really enjoyed the class yesterday.  It was longer but I am taking 45 minutes of general aerobics which burned 445 calories.  After the aerobic I hit the treadmill for a 3.19 miler which burned 479 calories, for a total of 923 calories for the day.  I am feeling the double workout today.  I think the weight is going to get stubborn now that I have lost 24.4 pound since August.  Now is when the consistency will pay off big time

Monday, January 10, 2011

1/10/11

Monday morning and here are the rest of my weekly totals.  Run and other exercises 26.63 miles in 6 hours and 30 minutes which burned 4129 minutes.  I did my stretches and my push up (90).  I ended the new year weighing 218 so that in my new starting weight.  Today I was 216.8 so I am losing again.  Starting the new year off right.  I still haven't reached my running goal of 30 miles a week, but I am working on it.  My energy level has been high for the most part so that mean I have been getting enough sleep with enough days off and eating plenty of food.  Need 28 miles this week with a swim and a bike ride.  I like this

Sunday, January 9, 2011

1/9/11

Got in my 26 miles today.  I did my 10 mile long run and 5 shorter 3 and 4 miles runs.  A very good week.  I will post my weight tomorrow.  I will try and get in some running and stationary biking this coming week.  One day off was what I needed this week.  I will write more tomorrow.  Keep up your exercising.

Saturday, January 8, 2011

1/8/11

After the 10 miler on Thursday, I was quite sore, so took the day off on Friday.  Today I ran on my variable speed treadmill for 3.03 miles which burned 479 calories.  Legs felt good.  Had Pizza yesterday so we will see Monday how my weight is.  Still cold here, need some warm weather so I can get outside for a run/ride.  I want 26 miles this week.  Just Run

Friday, January 7, 2011

Whatever it takes

I was able to get in my long run of 10.34 miles yesterday and burned 1565 calories.  It took my a couple of hours but that is ok.  I have been thinging of doing a marathon I found call Sand Hallow Marathon which is in March.  It starts in Hurricane and runs around Sand Hallow Res.  With the 10 miler and with no injuries the run in doable for me.  I think it is about time to beat myself up with another marathon.  This morning I was 216.8 lbs. which make me happy.  The weight loss is one of the major reasons I am doing all this.  I need to not only get into shape but I need to stay there this time because the older I get the harder is becomes.  Need to get in a couple of runs this weekend to keep off the the little bit of weekend gain that I seem to collect.  I want this bad enough to do whatever it takes.  Just Run

Thursday, January 6, 2011

Get those workouts in

I try to be at the aerobics room by 3:50 pm daily, but because of a phone call as I was walking out my door, I didn't get there until 4:25 pm.  After hanging up from the call I almost talked myself out of the workout because I had set in my mind that I was going to get in a 5 miler today.  Walking down the corridor I started beating myself up for thinking that way and reverting back to my old way of thinking.  By the time I hit Carolyn's office I had made up my mind to change clothes and see how many miles I could get in.  In conclusion I ran for 3.01 miles and burned 460 calories.  Because of the time restraints I actually ran faster than I normally do.  So our old saying of  "JUST DO SOMETHING" paid off big time for me

Wednesday, January 5, 2011

2011 My year to get healthy, then stay healthy

Yesterdays run was somewhat better than the day before.  I got in 4.17 miles and burned 634 calories.  I did my stretches and my push ups.  Along with 7.5 hours sleep I should stay healthy.  I am still 218 but not losing, I need to do something about that.  I measured my waist this morning and I was down a half inch to 43.5".  Of course I won't record this until the end of the month.  It is motivating though.  Still no swimming or bike riding but that will come.  I am debating on wheather to run the Gunnison half or the full marathon in April.  It shouldn't be a lack of training but how motivated I am.  My last long run was 8 so I am on schedule for a 20+ miler by the end of February.  Well see.  Please stay motivated and if you have a bad day, jump right back on.  Don't get depressed and beat yourself up.  We can do this!

Tuesday, January 4, 2011

First run of the New Year

Something very confusing:  After taking five days off, yesterdays run sucked.  You would think with the rest I would have had a good run.  There wasn't a place on my body that didn't hurt and that was a 3 miler.  I think that one day off at a time might be the trick for me.  Working out hard until the body says I need a day of rest is better.  My run was 3.03 miles and I burned 512 calories.  I kept my resolution by doing a stretch routine and 15 push up after.  Sunday night I got 7.5 hours of sleep.  I have nagging low grade pain in my left knee, right side of my neck, right shoulder, right side of my back down into my hip.  I need to address this pain.  I will try the YRG routine and see if that gives me any relief.  Not bitchin just letting everyone know whats going on.  Just Run

Monday, January 3, 2011

My number for 2010

I did not workout any over the 5 days off, rest is good.  My year end totals were not that impressive except for the weight loss.  I started 2010 at 235 and started 2011 at 218 for a loss of 17 pounds.  I have lost weight since the first of July 2010 with the exception of November.  I will try and keep up this slow loss for 2011.  Last year I ran 1000 miles, this year I ran 371.44 miles, quite a difference.  Last year I rode my bike for 324 miles (which I was disapointed in) this year I rode for 287 miles.  I did lift weigths some.  I did water jog some.  It seemed like I was working out a lot.  But when I write it down it's not much.  Most of the workouts have come in the second half of the year.  Looking at it that way I can live with the numbers.  BUT next year I guarantee they will be so much better.  Be consistent

Sunday, January 2, 2011

2011 resolutions and ramblings

I hope everyone had a happy new year because ours was great.  Watched movies and asleep by 11:00 but that is normal for us.  My weight on the 31st was 218.0 which I am happy with.  I forgot to do my waist measurement so that will have to wait until Monday morning.  I did not workout any during my first 4 days off.  I will do a treadmill run today and see how my variable speed treadmill works.  My machine has a mind of its own and speeds up and slows down at will.  Here are my resolutions for 2011:  Stretch after every run.  Run 1000 miles.  Bike 1000 miles.  Swim 52 miles, (the swimming is new for me but we are planning on swimming two days a week at Gunnison Pool/I will do 1/2 mile of swimming each time/doing this two days a week equals one miles a week time 52 weeks equals 52 miles, I need this for my triathlons).  Some lofty goals for me but I have ran the 1000 miles before and biked over 500 miles.  The new thing is the swimming which can be done.  The trouble come when you put all this together and still have a life.  I happen to love exercise but I also love laying on the couch watching TV.  I will have to get the exercise in then lay on the couch feeling good about myself for having got in my exercise.  It is all about priorities and not forgetting why we do all this exercise.  When you fall off the exercise wagon, get right back on,  don't beat yourself up for it, that turns into self pity and there is no place for self pity in my new year resolution.  I have not set a resolution for losing weight, because it doesn't work for me.  This year I am working on problem areas, such as:  My gut, My man boobs, My old man arms, My fat face, My fat ass, My breathing.  If I take care of these the weight will have to come off, so I don't have to make a resolution to lose weight this year.  I am challenging everyone to make this year a year of getting into shape and staying in shape for the rest of your life.  YO YO NO MORE.  That could be a moto but I like CONSISTENCY better.  Love ya all.  LETS DO THIS!